Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2010
I think the concept is great, but I didn't like this particular recipe. I think it was the pumpkin spice (which I usually love btw), but the flavors just didnt jive for me at all. It did cook perfectly overnight (about 9 hours) on the warm setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Dorado Hills, California, USA
Living In: Placerville, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This is very good! Here's my modifications: I sprayed my slow cooker first and used only 1 cup of oats and 3 cups of water(no milk or butter). I put in the apples and cinnamon and turned it on warm overnight. In the morning I added the craisins and nuts and then turned it off after about half an hour to let it thicken. I had none stuck to the side! We add hot milk and a little maple syrup to it in our bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I made this and it was so good and so yummy. Left the nuts to be mixed later and I did not have Pumpkin pie spice. I used WARM on my crock-pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Absolutely delicious! Will add sugar next time because my family complained about the lack of it, but I thought it had a nice natural sweetness! Will make again...and again...and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
This was great! The fruit makes it sweet with no added sugar. I read the comments and started it at 11PM on low. Got up at 5:30AM to check on it and it was too dry so I added 1 cup of milk and 1 cup of water. By 7AM, I stirred in the nuts and it was perfect! Will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
My kids age 5 & 6 Loved this. We put milk & maple syrup on it. They asked for seconds. Good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I made this exactly as written and it is very good "as is". Next time I will add more spices to better suit my personal preference. Perfect for freezing in single serving plastic bags. 8 hours was perfect for my slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stuart, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I always am pleased with the recipes I get from this sight...but I did not care for this one! It didn't have much flavor and it burned to the inside of my crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama27

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Made this with my BF, and the two of us went to the store and bought rolled oats because they didn't have steel cut, and assumed it would be fine. After reading some reviews we realized it might be a problem so we decided to only cook it for 4 hours. My sweetie got up at 4am to turn on the crock pot- so nice of him but completely defeats the purpose :) It tasted AWESOME though! The nuts were still crunchy and the oats were creamy but not too mushy. We bought some steel cut oats to try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorktown, Virginia, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I had problems with the recipe as did other reviewers, though I think it has potential. I did get a lot of burnt oatmeal after 8 hours cooking, but what wasn't burnt was great! I think the burning might be related to the shape of our slow cooker one of the large oval kinds and maybe it runs hot. I think maybe the cinnamon was overkill. Next time on warm or add more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States