Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Made this for a breakfast gathering recently and to be honest, it was a flop. It looked very unappealing and many wouldn't even try it. I followed the directions completely, and yes, it did stick to my crock badly. It was very thick when I first opened it so I added more milk just to be able to stir it. I added 1/3 cup at a time until I had added a full cup. I had been hoping for a creamy oatmeal but what I got was oat paste. The taste was just bland, but I am giving it 3 stars because, despite the look, I found that after adding a sprinkle of brown sugar and a pat of butter, I actually liked it, though I doubt I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLEAMARKETADICT

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This makes a ton, good flavor but I don't know about leaving it overnight. It really hardens on the crock pot and makes it hard to clean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I really enjoy this. I do use more milk than water and sometimes raisins instead of cranberries. It's all good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Not bad. I had to half the recipe. It does smell good in the morning! But VERY bland though. At the end I added some sugar, more cinnamon, and some milk. I'd also add a little extra water if you think you might need longer than 8 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
I followed your reciped with minor changes. I used raisins in place of cranberry and soy milk (I'm lactose intolerant) and I did use steel cut oats. It smelled wonderful in the morning, but something was missing. My kids ate something else. I have never used steel cut oats before and I will probably not use this recipe again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Cooked this twice now. Love the easiness of the recipe - I've tried it with raisins, apricots, dried apples, maple syrup, brown sugar, applesauce, and nutmeg - turned out beautifully! (It is something I need to watch or cook on low/warm like the others mentioned)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very healthy, however, I found it a bit too sweet for my taste and it was slimy for lack of a better word. Must be how I cooked it, but I don't know to prevent it from being a consistency I don't care for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Freelton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
LOVED this recipe. Have to admit, I have never liked oatmeal, hate the mushy texture and lack of flavor. This recipe is full of so much good 'stuff'. I used a mix of dried cherries, blueberries and strawberries, added flax seeds and meusli. Topped with brown sugar and milk, was to die for. Followed directions to a T, cooked on warm for 8-8.5 hrs Thanks for sharing, its a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I make my "steel cut" oatmeal like this all the time. Remember this is for "steel cut" oatmeal. Usually you need to buy that at a health food store or a food coop. It is a nutty grain oatmeal and it very different than regular oatmeal. It is very nutritious for you and if you cook this recipe with that kind, this recipe works. I did find that the amount of liquid in the recipe needs to be almost doubled. This is a nice basic slow cooker recipe but when you add apples, it makes applesauce also which will make it mushy as some have stated. I usually do not make my oatmeal with apples but with lots of different dried fruits and nuts. I also like to add my nuts in when the oatmeal is cooked and not during. I made this adding 1/2 cup of canned pumpkin and used raisins with that. I always make this during the day and not over night and then you can check on the consistency. I make a big batch like this on weekends and then I eat it all week long for a quick healthy breakfast before going to work. I cook on low and start with boiling hot water in my slow cooker and then it only takes a couple of hours to cook and you do not have to worry about it boiling over on the stove and stirring a lot. I spray the cooker with Pam and stir mine 3-4 times while cooking. If you have not tried the slow cooker for "steel cut" oatmeal, you will enjoy making it this way. Remember to only use "steel cut" though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Really tasty! I made it with apple cider instead of water, as others have suggested, but I won't next time. It was good, but you couldn't taste the other ingredients over the apple flavor, and I think this made it almost too sweet as well. I did have some problems with scorching on the bottom (had the crock pot set on low), but I used a crock pot liner, so cleanup was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States