Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This turned out great! HOWEVER make sure your slow cooker is on WARM, not Low. Had I left it any longer it would have burned even on WARM. Otherwise it was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyw73
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This steel-cut oats recipe has quickly become a new favorite in my diet. It's great as is but you can easily make substitions; I use 2 cups almond milk and 2 cups water. I also add a few handfuls of dry blueberries for extra fruit flavor. Serve with a drizzle of maple syrup -- or you can also serve it with approx 1/4 cup apple sauce - my personal favorite :). It freezes very well so you can prepare a large quantity in advance and freeze it in individual portions for quick and nutritious breakfasts when you are pressed for time. Just take out of the freezer the night before and reheat in the morning - and voila! The only advice I have for anyone attempting this recipe for the first time is to closely monitor your cooking progress. My crockpot cooks it perfectly after only 4 hours on the low setting. Thanks for sharing this recipe! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I didn't have any apples but used a fruit and nut mix I had gotten at the healthfood store. Cooked overnight on warm because I knew low would be too high. Turned on low for one hour when I got up. Added a little milk and brown sugar and it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hallie Alameda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I wondered how people were cooking their oatmeal in a big slowcooker and finally found the one piece of info that many people were missing. Use the slowcooker like a bain-marie (water bath)! Inside my slowcooker I put a crock of some type (I use a corningwear pot or a 4 cup pyrex measuring cup). I put all of the oatmeal and water/milk per the recipe into the corningwear pot and then add water to the crockpot AROUND the corningwear pot to about halfway up the side of the corning wear pot. I don't put a lid on the corningwear pot. I put the lid on the slowcooker and put it on low overnight which for me is usually about 6 or 7 hours. In the morning the oatmeal is perfect and just needs a stir. Nothing has ever been stuck to the corningwear pot and because I didn't put the oatmeal into the slow cooker itself I don't have to clean the slowcooker. I just empty the water and wipe it dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I tried this last night. You MUST use steel cuts oats! Also, my crock pot runs 180deg. There is a WARM setting to reheat cooked foods... this is the setting I used. I added canned pumpkin instead of the apples. Also, chopped dried apricots & prunes. I forgot to spray with Pam, so after combining the ingredients & sprayed the sides & stirred. After 8 hours + it wasn't creamy, but after adding milk it was great! I'll make this again switching up the fruit.. thanks Julie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
The entire family loved it! I added three CUPS of non-fat milk in addition to the water called out in the recipe. I also added four tablespoons of butter and brown sugar. It was flavorful, tastey and hardy. I cooked it for 8 hours on low in my crockpot. Next time I will add a little more water since I like my hot cereal to be thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I wasn't able to get this started the night before, but made on stove top...turned out fantastic. Only change I made was doing the apple cider instead of the milk like another suggested, mostly because I had on hand. You do have to cook Steel Oats a long time. Box said 30 minutes but I did additional 15 minutes. I'm going to try this in the Crock Pot next time, I love that a little bit fills you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was very good, but I made some changes. 2 cups milk and 2 cups water to make it creamier. I used all almonds (1 cup) because I didn't have pecans. I doubled the spices and added a tablespoon of Splenda brown sugar blend. I cooked it on "warm" and sprayed the crockpot with Pam before adding anything. I used raisins instead of cranberries. It was nice to wake up to breakfast already made, but it was a little bland, even with doubling the spices. I added more butter and brown sugar, as another reviewer suggested, and it was perfect. Delicious and healthy, even with the additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bettendorf, Iowa, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Excellent! Be sure to use steel cut oats---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Set on Low on the crockpot overnight, this recipe burned all around the edges. And the part in the middle that wasn't burnt had almost no flavor at all. If I try this again, I will probably add about 1/2 brown sugar and will only cook it on Warm overnight or will cook it for only 2 or 3 hours on Low and then refrigerate for breakfast the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Monticello, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States