Slow Cooker Fruit, Nuts, and Spice Oatmeal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
We really liked this recipe; I have to admit that I was looking for a "steel-cut oat" recipe this morning so I didn't get to use the slow-cooker method but next time I will do it that way! I ended up adding extra water and let simmer for about 40 min on low. I will not add the cranberries next time, they were a bit too tart. We put brown sugar, butter and a little salt on them. Thanks! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This oatmeal is really good! My sister and I put it in our in-a-jar baskets for Christmas, with an instructional tag. We, obviously, had to make some changes. Because we made so much, we put whatever nuts we found on sale (mostly wallnuts) and they were fine whatever way. We also put less of them, about 1/2 c. and that was enough. I also took the apples and dehydrated them by soaking them in a mixture of 1/4 c lemon juice and 1 quart of water to prevent them from browning. That took about 4-5 hours at 145*. This way the apples were preserved. We also used about a 1/2 c of those also; they plump back up just like the cranberries. Speaking of cranberries, we cut those back to about 3/4 c. I made this in a crockpot first with these changes, to make sure it tasted good, and it did. I think it had too much cinnamon so we cut it back to 2 teaspoons for the baskets and it was still very good. I think the pumpkin pie spice has cinnamon in it also so we weren't missing out. It started to get a little dry and burn by morning, so I think adding more water would help. This morning I made it on the stove and it only took a few minutes. I will definitely be making this again. I think I will assemble and mix the ingredients and store them for quick and easy access. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dondie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mounds, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Loved this oatmeal!! I did use 4 cups water and only cooked 7 hours. No burning. I added nuts at the end. Very healthy and a great way to start off the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly and was disappointed. It smelled great but it really needed something. My husband drown it in honey and said it was good. I am a Weight Watcher and it already is 4 pts so I didn't want to waste anymore pts on the honey. Sorry but I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I very excited to try this recipe when I had family staying with me for the weekend but I was pretty disappointed with the end result. I cooked the oatmeal on the "keep warm" setting as other suggested and it had a great flavor but the texture was well, sticky, gummy and just terrible. Not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pikeville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I really love this recipe. The one thing I did was oil my crock pot before adding ingredients & caused the oatmeal not to stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This was very easy to make. Tasted good..but i was expecting more of a "spicy" flavor. My family was calling this "porridge" and i'm not sure if thats a good thing. May try again using more cinnamon or adding nutmeg & ginger. Makes enough to feed an army.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Concert Trash

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
I really wanted to like this, but the texture was less than desirable (pasty) and it wasn't sweet at all. My husband and kids didn't like it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
We are off to IHOP. The burned mess is sitting in the kitchen sink soaking and waiting for our return. Ugh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Etherton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Needs some sweetness...I sprinkled with brown sugar and drizzled with honey. Put on warm setting overnight and it didn't burn. May make again if I need to have something pre-prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Slow Cooker Apple Crisp

Apples slowly cook with a cinnamony sweet mixture topped with walnut crumble.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States