Slow Cooker French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Fantastic - I added 3 beef boullion cubes to give it a little more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I started with 2 large yellow onions and added 4 smaller white ones. I cooked for about 20 minutes then added the sugar and continued cooking for another 25 or so until caramelized. If you don't use the sugar it is going to take longer. I added the sherry and please, if you're using it make sure it is something you could drink. After about 4 minutes or so (and most of the sherry had been absorbed), I added the mixture to the crock pot and followed the broth directions to a T. The flavors were decent but did not taste real rich/beefy. Next time I'll use this as a base and modify with some concentrated beef stock, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Even more ridiculously easy: Caramelize the onions in the, lightly-oiled, crock pot (no butter, sugar or sherry needed, just time), add 4-6C beef stock (what's the point of low-sodium if you're going to add salt?), and forget the grated four-cheeses (use the traditional slice of Gruyere, Emmental or, if all else fails, generic Swiss). For individual servings, dissolve a beef bouillon cube in 6oz of boiling water, add 4-6oz caramelized onions, heat in microwave, add toasted bread and a slice of cheese and finish under the broiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew Allison

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I make this recipe regularly and my boyfriend and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was fantastic! I followed it to the letter! I only did the 4 hour wait because we would have had to wait until the next day! Keep it on hig and dont be tempted to lift the lid! As empty nesters, we have plenty for leftovers and when I told my husband, that normally goes crazy having to eat leftovers, he said, "Awesome!". I would suggest replacing the Emmental with Swiss (since it is a form of that). I found it at Harris Teeter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I love French Onion soup and this did not disappoint at all. I used Marsala Wine because that's what I had and it was great. I also added a grilled Sirloin Steak slice up for a more substantial soup. (for the husband). Thanks for this soup recipe Chandraz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
tried other night... it was ok needed something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was so good! I couldn't find emmental cheese anywhere so I used sharp provolone in its place. It turned out so good! I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I've made this recipe many times. It is very good made as written. However, now when I make it I used 2 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoons of EVOO. I also decrease the sugar to 1 1/2 teaspoons and increase the garlic to 3 cloves. I like using fresh thyme as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is delicious but since you already spent 40 minutes cooking the onions on the stove and they are already nice and soft, why not just leave it on the stove and add the broth to that pot and simmer it for another hour or so? Transferring it to the slow cooker seems like an unnecessary step and just creates extra stuff to wash. This seems to be one of those recipes where using the slow cooker really doesn't simplify anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Chittick Robichaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States