Slow Cooker French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is by far my favorite thing to make for my wife! The soup fills the entire house with an amazing smell and it makes enough to last for days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Frunzi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
I agree with the other reviewer who questioned using a crock pot. The key to a hearty onion soup is carmelizing the onions. Once you've done that leave it in the pot to simmer for at least two hours. I add a bay leaf, two tablespoons Worcester sauce and a splash of gravy master. It's an easy one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I absolutely loved this. However, take the time to carmelize the onions. It's so worth the time because it adds so much character. This is treat - no doubt about it! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose G
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
You can't go wrong if you don't get weird with the basic recipe. Don't use too much sugar or sherry. I can make this without looking I've made it so many times. I concentrate stock from pot roasts for 12 hrs +/- and it's got great beef flavor and color. It's ok to slightly burn a few onions to increase sweetness and color but I said slightly! Until you know you can execute this you might hold out on they Gruyere' and use Swiss +/- Provolone.I bet you make this a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
You must Caramelize the onions. Make the onions the night before. Then the next day add the broth and let it slow cook all day. I actually only caramelized the onions and the next day added the beef broth. Nothing else and it was amazing. I no longer need to go out for French onion soup. Of course I couldn't find either cheese so I followed some others and used Swiss and provolone. Perfect !! I know many people complain on here about people changing the recipes but I for one appreciate it when people say the different things they did. So keep on substituting !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Oh WOW ...... this came out amazing. I did caramelize the onions as suggested and I believe this made the difference. It tastes quite comparable to high end restaurant grade to me. Love it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candace Sparks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
Wonderful flavor and easy to make. I save the broth from a slow cooker roast beef to use as my base, but I've made it with the packaged broth and that is almost as good. I definitely recommend carmelizing the onions because the resulting flavor is much better as well as the appearance. We ususally just use the guyere cheese, but almost any combo will work. While it can work with other wines, the sherry does seem best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Even my picky husband loved it,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
this recipe is a keeper! Very easy and a hit with the whole family. May add a bit more thyme next time. I also just used a bit less butter(about 1/2 what the recipe called for),used provolone cheese to simplify things and cut the bread into cubes to make it easier for my LO to manage. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I thought this was good enough for company. The night before, I browned the onions on a foil-covered sheet pan at 350 degrees in the oven, stirring occasionally. In my opinion, it's much easier than a sauté pan. I used two cans of low-sodium beef broth and supplemented the rest with water mixed with Better Than Bouillon. I only had shredded mozzarella for the bread, but it still turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States