Slow Cooker French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Made this twice. Once carmelizing the onions, and once not. Takeing the time to carmalize it made a muh richer flavor.This was soooooo good! I had to skip the Enmental cheese because I didn't know what it was but the Gruyere took this soup "over the top" on flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
WOW- I didn't change a thing.. I did carmelize the onions. This recipe made me look good. I do not have much experiance with soups, this was easy and amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keenesburg, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Awesome great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
WOW! I carmelized my onions early this morning. (took about an hour). I wouldn't skip this step - IT IS what makes the soup. You just can't duplicate that flavor! Also do NOT skip the sherry! I used Swanson beef stock, fresh thyme and a dried bay leaf. It is in the crock pot now and will be ready for when we come back from two junior high basketball games around 7 pm. Having it with hamburgers for dinner tonight. It is going to take ALL OF ME not to go in the kitchen to ladle a bowl in secret! WISH I had oven proof crocks, that way I could broil the cheese on top of the soup.....but we will improvise and it will still be great! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this soup over the weekend and it was great. The prep time was a bit longer than i'm used to for a slow cooker dish, but it was well worth it. Based on the prior reviews, I caramelized the onions. It was worth the extra time. The process released so much sugar that I may skip the tablespoon called for in the recipe the next time. I was out of cooking sherry and used a Merlot instead. After the prep time, the soup spent about 5.5h on high before being served and going on the high end of 4-6h did not compromise the texture. The final product was delicious and the recipe is now in my "Recipe Box".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Central Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is a great recipe. I couldn't find Emmental so I subbed in Swiss. If you put the bread right in the soup it kind of soaks it up and turns soggy so you can coop that right up with your spoon along with the soup - or, if you don't like soggy bread you can not do that. The bread is definitely key, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
This is a great soup simple as that. I've been told its the best French Onion Soup ever. It's simple to prepare!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
I came across this recipe, and lucky me!! this was fantastic and so so easy. I am not one to take a recipe and totally change and then post it. However......... I didnt have thyme or bay leaf, and it came amazing! I followed the directions exactly and I can only imagine how great it will be when I add the thyme and bay leaf next time. This is a keeper :) thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Made this recipe today for my family and it was a HUGE success!! I could not find the Emmental cheese, so I just used the Gruyere, Parmesan and Mozzarella. Next time I may just use a shredded 5 cheese italian and call it a day. Gruyere is expensive but oh so good! I did carmelize the onions and it was fantastic. I also used Swanson Beef Stock, fresh thyme and fresh Bay leaf as well. Sherry was the key. What a rich flavor this turned out to be. Definitely on my monthly rotation! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaParciak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nappanee, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My family loved it!!!!! Everyone raved about it. They all said it sure beat any restaurants. Highly recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States