Slow Cooker French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
Excellent! I followed this recipe to the letter (with the exception of substituting the Gruyere and Emmental with provolone and Swiss) and the soup was to weep for. The smell drove us mad all day long: it was hard to wait 8 hrs! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hosmer, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is a great recipe. I couldn't find Emmental so I subbed in Swiss. If you put the bread right in the soup it kind of soaks it up and turns soggy so you can coop that right up with your spoon along with the soup - or, if you don't like soggy bread you can not do that. The bread is definitely key, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soapscrubs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
Hi - very very good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
WOW! I carmelized my onions early this morning. (took about an hour). I wouldn't skip this step - IT IS what makes the soup. You just can't duplicate that flavor! Also do NOT skip the sherry! I used Swanson beef stock, fresh thyme and a dried bay leaf. It is in the crock pot now and will be ready for when we come back from two junior high basketball games around 7 pm. Having it with hamburgers for dinner tonight. It is going to take ALL OF ME not to go in the kitchen to ladle a bowl in secret! WISH I had oven proof crocks, that way I could broil the cheese on top of the soup.....but we will improvise and it will still be great! GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
This is one of the better slow-cooker recipes I've tried. Do take the time to carmalize the onions - the fond makes a lot of difference. Whatever else you do, please do not use 'cooking' sherry, which isn't really sherry and tastes mainly like sour salt water. Use real cocktail (dry) sherry if you have it. If not, a little bourbon, red wine, or Mediera will do. And try to use the cheezes specified, but it you must substitute, regular Deli-style swiss and/or Provolone are better than Mozzerella, which is too bland and milky for the richness of the dish. Finally, I found that slow-baking the bread slices to dry them works better than toasting because the toasted bread is softer and will dissolve in the hot liquid too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I made this soup over the weekend and it was great. The prep time was a bit longer than i'm used to for a slow cooker dish, but it was well worth it. Based on the prior reviews, I caramelized the onions. It was worth the extra time. The process released so much sugar that I may skip the tablespoon called for in the recipe the next time. I was out of cooking sherry and used a Merlot instead. After the prep time, the soup spent about 5.5h on high before being served and going on the high end of 4-6h did not compromise the texture. The final product was delicious and the recipe is now in my "Recipe Box".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Central Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
Made this twice. Once carmelizing the onions, and once not. Takeing the time to carmalize it made a muh richer flavor.This was soooooo good! I had to skip the Enmental cheese because I didn't know what it was but the Gruyere took this soup "over the top" on flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this for the 2nd time last night. It's so easy and elegant! This time I used the crockpot to caramelize 3-4lbs sweet onion with 1/2 cup butter and tsp sea salt for six hours (on high)....Then added 4 cups good rich beef stock, thyme, red table wine and black pepper. Cooked on low for another 6 hrs. Cooking down the onions first in the crock made this so buttery and delicious. Top with toasted baguette with melted swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My family loved it!!!!! Everyone raved about it. They all said it sure beat any restaurants. Highly recommend this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This recipe is amazing!!! It's actually still in the crock pot and my husband and I have both been stealing spoonfuls for the past hour, although it is supposed to be in there for another hour... Too good! I did use merlot, as that is what I had on hand (didn't think to grab the sherry at the store earlier) and used Better Than Bullion for the stock, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly and it is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States