Slow Cooker French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was fantastic! I followed it to the letter! I only did the 4 hour wait because we would have had to wait until the next day! Keep it on hig and dont be tempted to lift the lid! As empty nesters, we have plenty for leftovers and when I told my husband, that normally goes crazy having to eat leftovers, he said, "Awesome!". I would suggest replacing the Emmental with Swiss (since it is a form of that). I found it at Harris Teeter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
I love French Onion soup and this did not disappoint at all. I used Marsala Wine because that's what I had and it was great. I also added a grilled Sirloin Steak slice up for a more substantial soup. (for the husband). Thanks for this soup recipe Chandraz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
tried other night... it was ok needed something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
This was so good! I couldn't find emmental cheese anywhere so I used sharp provolone in its place. It turned out so good! I will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I've made this recipe many times. It is very good made as written. However, now when I make it I used 2 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoons of EVOO. I also decrease the sugar to 1 1/2 teaspoons and increase the garlic to 3 cloves. I like using fresh thyme as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This is delicious but since you already spent 40 minutes cooking the onions on the stove and they are already nice and soft, why not just leave it on the stove and add the broth to that pot and simmer it for another hour or so? Transferring it to the slow cooker seems like an unnecessary step and just creates extra stuff to wash. This seems to be one of those recipes where using the slow cooker really doesn't simplify anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Chittick Robichaud

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I skipped the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslijo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I have never made any recipe of French Onion Soup before and I also had never caramelized onions prior to this recipe. I watched the video and read the recipe quite a few times before starting and watched the video a half dozen more times while cooking. The recipe states to caramelize for at least 30 minutes. This was misleading to me, as I had never done it before. I changed the recipe to make 12 servings which was about 6 large white onions. It took well over 3 hours to caramelize the onions to look like the ones in the video. I was not expecting this. Next time I will caramelize the onions in the crock pot a day or two before completing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I didn't have access to the cheese listed, So I substituted an Italian blend of shredded cheese, To make things simpler, I bought frozen sliced garlic bread, browned both sides and used that the size and texture were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This is an amazing recipe - my daughter said it was better than a French restaurant! I love being able to do most of it ahead of time also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States