Slow Cooker French Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this for the 2nd time last night. It's so easy and elegant! This time I used the crockpot to caramelize 3-4lbs sweet onion with 1/2 cup butter and tsp sea salt for six hours (on high)....Then added 4 cups good rich beef stock, thyme, red table wine and black pepper. Cooked on low for another 6 hrs. Cooking down the onions first in the crock made this so buttery and delicious. Top with toasted baguette with melted swiss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
This is the best onion soup I have made. Easy and taste great. My sister loves it she won't make it because her husband doesn't like it. So she comes over when I do..LOL Having grilled cheese and tomato sandwiches tonight with it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Very good. I paired it with easy French dip sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I am making this for the second time today. French Onion is my hubby's favorite. He likes anything with onion and garlic, so I'll double the garlic. I used four very large yellow onions. No sherry here, so I'm using 1/4c apple cider vinegar and 1/4 c water instead. (another reviewer idea). I also sliced the onions right into the crockpot with the butter and let them cook for about 45 minutes first, and add the garlic for about 5 or 10 minutes before adding other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColleenK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Amazing soup! I followed the recipe and it was simple to do, and made the most delicious onion soup any of us have had! Its even better the next day! Thanks for a great recipe that will get lots of use in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Harriman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I changed nothing! We absolutely loved it and ate it for two days. Definitely a keeper and after the onion prep, not hard at all! I loved the presentation in the oven proof bowls....as fancy as any restaurant. And, like others, I was amazed at how wonderful the kitchen smelled all day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSLEM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canonsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Nice and simple recipe! I used vermouth instead of sherry. Next time I will try it with regular beef broth instead of low sodium because I found it lacked salt. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ceridwen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I think next time I will omit the balsamic vinegar. Otherwise, pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Fantastic! This is the best one I've tried yet (I'm experimenting with different recipes of FO Soup). Really, really, good. Next time I may do cheese slices rather than the grated cheese, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrisMac
Home Town: Fairfax Station, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
An awesome tasting soup regardless of the cheese selection you might make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

French Onion Soup I

See how to make a simple, comforting onion soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States