Slow-Cooker Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Yummy! Yum! I changed a few things just because I didn't have some things on hand! Added Half & Half to make it more of a chowder type of meal. My kids and everyone else LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This soup is so delicious! The bacon adds a really nice flavor to the seafood. We had a frozen halibut filet, so we just put the whole filet into the chowder 1 hour (as it says in the recipe) and then just used a fork to separate it. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I swapped out the halibut with a standard COD steak filet because I didn't want to pay $19.99 per pound. It was very watery so I needed to add a roux made of butter, flour, and the broth. Overall it was good but I feel it was more related to a soup than a chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Fantastic flavour and is now a family favourite. I added a tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning the second time I made the dish and it really kicked the flavour up a notch with a little extra heat as well. Great addition if you like foods on the spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
Used sweet potato as well as coconut milk rather than cream to make it super healthy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Sooooo good! I did maybe a fourth of the potatoes as I'm trying to cut out starches, no corn, but lots of seafood. Added some Old Bay Seasoning like another person suggested--wow. Awesome flavor. And it's got bacon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Made this tonight and it was a hit, even with our 5 year old. Used bay scallops, cod and doubled the shrimp since I had extra on hand. Did end up thickening a bit with corn starch. Perfect dinner for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
A good and easy chowder. I used at least double the celery. I also substituted a pound of canned ham for the bacon. I didn't have any bacon. I used only a pinch of black pepper and red pepper. I wanted something smooth and mild. This was a good choice for dinner after a long day. I put the vegetables in the crock pot the night before. The kids added the broth and corn when they got home from school. I added the milk, ham and seafood when I got home. It took all of two seconds, so I had an hour to rest after work instead of cooking. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was delicious! And, since the fish don't go in until the end, the house doesn't end up smelling like fish all day. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LarissaMcDowell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Pros: easy to make; makes enough for a small army Cons: expensive ingredients; very overpowering taste of seafood; thin broth; bland seasoning I made the recipe as written.The taste of the chowder doesn't justify the expense of the ingredients. Even with seasoning, all my family could taste was the overwhelming pungency of fish. The excessive amount of stock called for makes this a thin soup. I like my chowders thick. This wasn't worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States