Slow-Cooker Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
This soup is so delicious! The bacon adds a really nice flavor to the seafood. We had a frozen halibut filet, so we just put the whole filet into the chowder 1 hour (as it says in the recipe) and then just used a fork to separate it. VERY GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Yummy! Yum! I changed a few things just because I didn't have some things on hand! Added Half & Half to make it more of a chowder type of meal. My kids and everyone else LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I swapped out the halibut with a standard COD steak filet because I didn't want to pay $19.99 per pound. It was very watery so I needed to add a roux made of butter, flour, and the broth. Overall it was good but I feel it was more related to a soup than a chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This has become one of our family's favorite dishes! I think I make it every 2-3 weeks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
So very Yummy! I used Cod instead, and it turned out great! I'm going to add crab meat next time. I'll be making this soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Made this tonight and it was a hit, even with our 5 year old. Used bay scallops, cod and doubled the shrimp since I had extra on hand. Did end up thickening a bit with corn starch. Perfect dinner for a cold winter night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Fantastic flavour and is now a family favourite. I added a tablespoon of Old Bay Seasoning the second time I made the dish and it really kicked the flavour up a notch with a little extra heat as well. Great addition if you like foods on the spicy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
My husband and I loved this recipe! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
A good and easy chowder. I used at least double the celery. I also substituted a pound of canned ham for the bacon. I didn't have any bacon. I used only a pinch of black pepper and red pepper. I wanted something smooth and mild. This was a good choice for dinner after a long day. I put the vegetables in the crock pot the night before. The kids added the broth and corn when they got home from school. I added the milk, ham and seafood when I got home. It took all of two seconds, so I had an hour to rest after work instead of cooking. I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Sooooo good! I did maybe a fourth of the potatoes as I'm trying to cut out starches, no corn, but lots of seafood. Added some Old Bay Seasoning like another person suggested--wow. Awesome flavor. And it's got bacon! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States