Slow Cooker Fifteen Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
We loved it ... Instead of water, I used chicken broth and I used two lbs of Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage... then topped it off with cheese and sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri Davenport King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is outstanding! My 2-year-old ate 3 bowls. The only complaint I heard was my 9- and 6-year olds ... "Where's the meat?" Leftovers got bacon pieces, next time I'll add some smoked sausage or kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This is excellent. I only have a 3-quart crock pot, so I downsized the ingredients. I also skipped the bacon alltogether and cooked the cabbage, carrots and onions in olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Amazing. I embellished the recipe slightly, but it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickypro25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
It's simple even my children love to help. put it together and let it do the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
Very hearty with a distinctive taste. In the process of preparation and after it was served there were numerous request for the recipe. A "must try" for busy bean lovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
Adjust the chili powder to taste. It's wonderful for cold weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
easy to make and very tasty....we all liked it. Definitely will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I omitted the cabbage, used the carrots, celery and onion without cooking first; omitted sage and used the spice packet from beans. I made a double batch as the bean bag was 16 oz. and adjusted ingred. accordingly. I tossed everything in from the beginning except the ham steaks, which I cut up and added the last half hour. I cooked on low for about 12 hours - Perfect! I did end up blending about 4 c. of the soup to add some substance, it was fantastic this way. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is a good recipe for experimenting with a bag of 15 bean soup. Instead of ham hocks and bacon, I use a pre-cooked ham steak. I cube it and add it in the last half hour of cooking. Also, I add the juice of a half a lemon at that point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States