Slow Cooker Fifteen Bean Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
The taste is wonderful, but the smell of cabbage cooking in your crock pot is not to my liking. It still tastes great, but I think I'll skip the cabbage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
We loved it ... Instead of water, I used chicken broth and I used two lbs of Jimmy Dean Hot Sausage... then topped it off with cheese and sour cream...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerriSteelMagnolia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
My first time cooking with a ham hock and making a second attempt with dried beans. It was a success...I blended about 4 cups of the soup to thicken it up a bit...very good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This is outstanding! My 2-year-old ate 3 bowls. The only complaint I heard was my 9- and 6-year olds ... "Where's the meat?" Leftovers got bacon pieces, next time I'll add some smoked sausage or kielbasa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Amazing. I embellished the recipe slightly, but it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickypro25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Bethany, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I used this recipe as a base for my "normal" stovetop 15 bean soup. I used the leftover ham bone from Christmas supper (with LOTS of meat left on it), and some extra cooked ham - added near the end. The meat literally fell off the bone!! I omitted all the spices and used the "ham flavor" seasoning pkg that came with the beans, two bay leaves, two teaspoons of minced garlic, and black pepper (to taste). For the veggies - I used carrots, onions, and celery. This was my first attempt with a slow cooker (the 7 qt. one was a Christmas gift!!), and it turned out better than my stovetop recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
I skipped the ham hock, cabbage and chili powder and most of the spices. Instead I added mild Italian sausage that I browned first. That added plenty of seasoning. My whole family liked this the first day, but no one wanted to eat the leftovers. I liked it, but won't make it again for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORNA C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Not a bad soup, just needed a few extra spices to make it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: ???, Norfolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Good recipe. I used 1 and 1/2 bags of beans and after about 3.5 hours, I took 4 cups of the beans and veggies and put them in the blender to make the soup a little less brothy and a little thicker like I like my bean soups. Make sure to adjust the chili powder to your liking. I served this with home made french bread from the bread machine and a small salad. It was a great autumn comfort food dinner!! Thank You~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
This is excellent. I only have a 3-quart crock pot, so I downsized the ingredients. I also skipped the bacon alltogether and cooked the cabbage, carrots and onions in olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Georgetown, Grand Cayman, Cayman Islands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States