Slow Cooker Fall Harvest Pork Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I've made this twice now and it's definitely now a staple in my family. This isn't an explosion of flavor, just warm, homey, and comforting and gets better as the flavors meld on the second and third day. The apples do disintegrate, but makes for a thicker texture in the sauce. I do recommend cutting the pork into slightly smaller pieces and cutting the vegetables into 1" cubes, not 2" and the parsnip a bit under 1". You might feel the need for a pinch of salt to individual servings the first night, but shouldn't need it the second or third. My second time making this I substituted a potato for one of the apples and added some whole mustard seed and cumin for a bit of earthiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is very good! Used all beef broth. I didn't have parsnip so I used rutabega. I loved it...not a kid pleaser though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
The finished product is relentlessly boring. I did like what the apples did in the stew, but the whole thing was just too bland. It might not be bad if you experiment with spices in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Not a hit with my family, perhaps I cooked it to long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
It was OK. Would I make again? No. It was bland, and although the ingredients sounded like they would blend well, it just didn't personally work for me. I would have enjoyed it more if I made everything separate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I'm giving this a provisional 5 stars. It tasted wonderful made as per the recipe. I did add double the thyme and some salt and pepper. I will agree that the apples melted away into the sauce, but that's what made it taste so delicious. Next time I will peel the apples, though, just for appearance sake. Then it will be a true 5 stars. Try this, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This was a yummy and hearty stew. Few changes: 1. instead of French Onion Soup I used onion soup mix, 2 c. water, & 1 can of cream of chicken soup; 2. Carrots instead of parsnips.; 3. Calabaza squash instead of Butternut. (Just cause I had it on hand). It was a little greasy, but that comes with pork! I would also add the squash and apples towards the end so they aren't so mushy! I thought the apples might be weird with this, but they were a nice addition, just need to be added later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I adjusted just a few things - trimmed fat off pork, added a 1/2 can of beef broth, ground pepper to taste and some Lawry's seasoned salt. I didn't think just Thyme would be enough flavor for me. 3 stars for the apples. My husband and I were both gone all day so it did cook the full 8 hrs. Flavors were decent/good if not slightly bland, liked the pork (a BIT dry, so could have probably stopped cooking in 7 hrs), squash and parsnips. But the apples were complete mush. I didn't stir them in with the rest of the stew, either - I had them on top worried they'd get to mushy in the liquid to early. The texture was too off for me to eat them, even though the flavor wasn't bad. so ate around them and wasted 3 perfectly good apples. Will make again, but will either leave the apples out all together and serve along side or wait to put them in for just the last part of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Praline Pumpkin Mousse Cornucopias

Puff pastry makes a tasty "shell" to hold creamy pumpkin mousse. Yum!

Prosciutto Asparagus

This holiday appetizer couldn't be easier--or tastier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States