Slow Cooker Escalloped Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I stumbled upon this recipe; had all the ingredients, read the other reviews and VOILA!! This is a real winner! The changes I made were to use 3/4Cup of butter and about 1+ Cup of the chicken broth...Just enough to get it "mushy"...I cooked for 5 hrs on Low. The onion and celery were al dente which was fine. VERY good recipe! Reheated in the microwave the next day is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Wow! This was great! I followed the earlier suggestions to half the liquid and the butter. I also put frozen chicken leg quarters in the slow cooker first, and then boned and skinned the chicken before adding the rest of the ingredients. My family raved for days about this recipe. Thanks, Peg! This will definitely be on my list of "best" recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This was great and so easy. I only had the frozen chicken breasts (like you buy at Sam's Club) I threw them in the pot frozen (didn't pre-boil) and took the advice of some of the others and cut down on the liquid and the butter. Instead of water I used a can of vegtable broth, but I think it needed just a tad more liquid than that. I also cooked it longer (like 6 hours). The chicken absolutely fell apart and had a wonderful flavor, probably from the veg.broth). Overall, it was great! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good flavor. If you like stuffing and moist poultry, this is the dish for you. I omit the seasonings and use a large box of cornbread stuffing mix. I used margarine in place of butter once and no celery; it was not nearly as good. My family likes this served with a green vegetable and cranberry sauce on the side. No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Good recipe - I do agree - use a lot less liquid than specified!! I just mixed diced raw chicken into the mixture before cooking and used one can of chicken broth - which was a little too much!!! I pre-sauteed the onion and celery until al dente. I used half white and half whole grain bread. I also threw in a handful of orange-flavored, dried cranberries and some sliced raw mushrooms (which will add their own liquid while cooking!). Next time - I'll use really tough french bread and whole grain bread and will add even more dried cranberries - they made it really "Thanksgiving-like"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
THIS RECEIPE SOUNDED SO GOOD BUT CAME OUT SLIMY. I HAD COMPANY AND HAD TO END UP FIXING SANDWICHES BECAUSE NO ONE LIKED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
OMG!!!..This is such a great recipe. Fast to make and great tasting. I read the other reviews before making it for the first time. I followed alot of their suggestions of cutting back on the butter and liquid, which IO did. 1/2 cup of butter is more than enough. I also toasted the bread light brown before cutting it in cubes. I used 1 chicken boullion disolved in 1 cup of the fluid left over from poaching the chicken. I had chicken backs that I wanted to use, instead of breast. I took off the skin, but left the bone in, to hold the meat together. I put the meat on the bottom of crock pot, then covered with the dressing. Dried cranberries were the added touch this needed. It was so nice to come home from work and only have to prepare a vegetable to go with supper. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
We loved this recipe, even my 2 year old! Very comforting. I did reduce the butter to 1/2 a cup and am not sure how much broth/cooking liquid I used, just added until it was moist but not soggy. I also put the breasts in the cooker with some water and chicken base, s/p, fresh thyme sprigs and a splash of chardonnay for about 45 minutes before adding the stuffing mix on top. I used the liquid to moisten the stuffing and then added some more water/chicken base to the bread until moist. I also added fresh sage to the mix rather than dried and chopped some mushrooms for the stuffing mix, to hide for picky eaters. One more thing, I added a handful of dried currants to the stuffing, I was out of cranberries. The chicken was moist, flavorful and extremely tender. The stuffing was yummy too, just moist enough. I served with steamed green beans. I will definitely be making this again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
13 cups cubed bread?!! There's no way my crockpot could fit that much in there. I used a box and a half of Mrs. Cubbison's stuffing cornbread which is more like 5 cups. So I halved the butter and liquid. I also added craisins which really added to the taste. The chicken meat was 3 bone in chicken breasts I just cooked in vegetable broth for a few hours then added the mixed dressing on top of it. I had no idea what "escalloped chicken" was but basically it turned out like chicken and stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made this dish yesterday and all I can say is WOW! I followed the recipe to a "T" and it was perfect. So good, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha Christian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Lemon Garlic Chicken

Meet the perfect weeknight one-pot chicken dinner.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States