Slow Cooker Escalloped Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
Will NOT make again. Came out really mushy. Just can't take the consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Good recipe - I do agree - use a lot less liquid than specified!! I just mixed diced raw chicken into the mixture before cooking and used one can of chicken broth - which was a little too much!!! I pre-sauteed the onion and celery until al dente. I used half white and half whole grain bread. I also threw in a handful of orange-flavored, dried cranberries and some sliced raw mushrooms (which will add their own liquid while cooking!). Next time - I'll use really tough french bread and whole grain bread and will add even more dried cranberries - they made it really "Thanksgiving-like"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This was great and so easy. I only had the frozen chicken breasts (like you buy at Sam's Club) I threw them in the pot frozen (didn't pre-boil) and took the advice of some of the others and cut down on the liquid and the butter. Instead of water I used a can of vegtable broth, but I think it needed just a tad more liquid than that. I also cooked it longer (like 6 hours). The chicken absolutely fell apart and had a wonderful flavor, probably from the veg.broth). Overall, it was great! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Wow! This was great! I followed the earlier suggestions to half the liquid and the butter. I also put frozen chicken leg quarters in the slow cooker first, and then boned and skinned the chicken before adding the rest of the ingredients. My family raved for days about this recipe. Thanks, Peg! This will definitely be on my list of "best" recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Took advice from previous reviews and cut butter and broth as indicated. I substituted the bread cubes and spices for sage stuffing mix (big bag)and that saved time and worked well. Recipe turned out well but if I make again I would add fresh mushrooms to the stuffing. It was an ok dish, nothing I will rush to make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hazelwood, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I stumbled upon this recipe; had all the ingredients, read the other reviews and VOILA!! This is a real winner! The changes I made were to use 3/4Cup of butter and about 1+ Cup of the chicken broth...Just enough to get it "mushy"...I cooked for 5 hrs on Low. The onion and celery were al dente which was fine. VERY good recipe! Reheated in the microwave the next day is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
I had success with this recipe after reading the other reviews. I cut the butter in half, and cut down on the water. I also placed frozen chicken drumsticks in the crockpot 3-4 hours before I added the dressing mixture on top, and after a couple more hours of cooking they were both done to perfection. It was even better left over! Don't give up the first time if it doesn't come out right...it's worth experimenting a little until you get it the way you like it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
This recipe has potential, but the liquid measurements have got to be wrong. I would cut the butter and reserved cooking liquid in half. Also, you don't have to bother toasting the bread cubes if you use day-old french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
THIS RECEIPE SOUNDED SO GOOD BUT CAME OUT SLIMY. I HAD COMPANY AND HAD TO END UP FIXING SANDWICHES BECAUSE NO ONE LIKED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States