Slow Cooker Escalloped Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2004
This was great and so easy. I only had the frozen chicken breasts (like you buy at Sam's Club) I threw them in the pot frozen (didn't pre-boil) and took the advice of some of the others and cut down on the liquid and the butter. Instead of water I used a can of vegtable broth, but I think it needed just a tad more liquid than that. I also cooked it longer (like 6 hours). The chicken absolutely fell apart and had a wonderful flavor, probably from the veg.broth). Overall, it was great! Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lantana, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2002
I had success with this recipe after reading the other reviews. I cut the butter in half, and cut down on the water. I also placed frozen chicken drumsticks in the crockpot 3-4 hours before I added the dressing mixture on top, and after a couple more hours of cooking they were both done to perfection. It was even better left over! Don't give up the first time if it doesn't come out right...it's worth experimenting a little until you get it the way you like it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
I stumbled upon this recipe; had all the ingredients, read the other reviews and VOILA!! This is a real winner! The changes I made were to use 3/4Cup of butter and about 1+ Cup of the chicken broth...Just enough to get it "mushy"...I cooked for 5 hrs on Low. The onion and celery were al dente which was fine. VERY good recipe! Reheated in the microwave the next day is wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2004
Good recipe - I do agree - use a lot less liquid than specified!! I just mixed diced raw chicken into the mixture before cooking and used one can of chicken broth - which was a little too much!!! I pre-sauteed the onion and celery until al dente. I used half white and half whole grain bread. I also threw in a handful of orange-flavored, dried cranberries and some sliced raw mushrooms (which will add their own liquid while cooking!). Next time - I'll use really tough french bread and whole grain bread and will add even more dried cranberries - they made it really "Thanksgiving-like"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
OMG!!!..This is such a great recipe. Fast to make and great tasting. I read the other reviews before making it for the first time. I followed alot of their suggestions of cutting back on the butter and liquid, which IO did. 1/2 cup of butter is more than enough. I also toasted the bread light brown before cutting it in cubes. I used 1 chicken boullion disolved in 1 cup of the fluid left over from poaching the chicken. I had chicken backs that I wanted to use, instead of breast. I took off the skin, but left the bone in, to hold the meat together. I put the meat on the bottom of crock pot, then covered with the dressing. Dried cranberries were the added touch this needed. It was so nice to come home from work and only have to prepare a vegetable to go with supper. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2000
This recipe has potential, but the liquid measurements have got to be wrong. I would cut the butter and reserved cooking liquid in half. Also, you don't have to bother toasting the bread cubes if you use day-old french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I poached the chicken breasts in a broth / water mixture with a bay leaf, then cubed the chicken before I added it to the crock pot. I used a couple of loaves of day old bread, one was white and the other was a whole wheat. I used a lot of sage because it's a flavor we enjoy. This was really good, really easy (if I had used dressing mix instead of cubing and toasting the bread myself it'd be nearly effortless). It's a good dish for a cold day...made the house smell like the holidays were on the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Wow! This was great! I followed the earlier suggestions to half the liquid and the butter. I also put frozen chicken leg quarters in the slow cooker first, and then boned and skinned the chicken before adding the rest of the ingredients. My family raved for days about this recipe. Thanks, Peg! This will definitely be on my list of "best" recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
So good!!! The flavor of the stuffing was out of this world! DH said he could eat it every day! After reading the other reviews, I too cut the butter in half and used less liquid ( 2 cups chicken broth) The other changes I made were, I sauteed the onion and celery in olive oil, used frozen boneless chicken breasts, and used 2 cups of chicken broth instead of water. I will cut the butter down even more next time ( 1/4 cup?) and since it was mushy, I will cut the broth back to maybe 1-1 1/2 cups . Really though......very very tasty and easy! I put it in my favorites...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2000
THIS RECEIPE SOUNDED SO GOOD BUT CAME OUT SLIMY. I HAD COMPANY AND HAD TO END UP FIXING SANDWICHES BECAUSE NO ONE LIKED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States