Slow Cooker Escalloped Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
tasty as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
13 cups cubed bread?!! There's no way my crockpot could fit that much in there. I used a box and a half of Mrs. Cubbison's stuffing cornbread which is more like 5 cups. So I halved the butter and liquid. I also added craisins which really added to the taste. The chicken meat was 3 bone in chicken breasts I just cooked in vegetable broth for a few hours then added the mixed dressing on top of it. I had no idea what "escalloped chicken" was but basically it turned out like chicken and stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very good flavor. If you like stuffing and moist poultry, this is the dish for you. I omit the seasonings and use a large box of cornbread stuffing mix. I used margarine in place of butter once and no celery; it was not nearly as good. My family likes this served with a green vegetable and cranberry sauce on the side. No leftovers here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Although I didn't follow the directions exactly, this recipe came out very well. Tasted like Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cvnsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
We loved this recipe, even my 2 year old! Very comforting. I did reduce the butter to 1/2 a cup and am not sure how much broth/cooking liquid I used, just added until it was moist but not soggy. I also put the breasts in the cooker with some water and chicken base, s/p, fresh thyme sprigs and a splash of chardonnay for about 45 minutes before adding the stuffing mix on top. I used the liquid to moisten the stuffing and then added some more water/chicken base to the bread until moist. I also added fresh sage to the mix rather than dried and chopped some mushrooms for the stuffing mix, to hide for picky eaters. One more thing, I added a handful of dried currants to the stuffing, I was out of cranberries. The chicken was moist, flavorful and extremely tender. The stuffing was yummy too, just moist enough. I served with steamed green beans. I will definitely be making this again this winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA
Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
OMG!!!..This is such a great recipe. Fast to make and great tasting. I read the other reviews before making it for the first time. I followed alot of their suggestions of cutting back on the butter and liquid, which IO did. 1/2 cup of butter is more than enough. I also toasted the bread light brown before cutting it in cubes. I used 1 chicken boullion disolved in 1 cup of the fluid left over from poaching the chicken. I had chicken backs that I wanted to use, instead of breast. I took off the skin, but left the bone in, to hold the meat together. I put the meat on the bottom of crock pot, then covered with the dressing. Dried cranberries were the added touch this needed. It was so nice to come home from work and only have to prepare a vegetable to go with supper. I will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heart

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
I, too, cut the butter and liquid. The flavor was terrific. The texture of the stuffing was quite mushy though. So maybe try what the other person did and put the chicken in first and the stuffing in after a couple of hours???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
It had good flavor, but the stuffing was mushy. Not at all good leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I poached the chicken breasts in a broth / water mixture with a bay leaf, then cubed the chicken before I added it to the crock pot. I used a couple of loaves of day old bread, one was white and the other was a whole wheat. I used a lot of sage because it's a flavor we enjoy. This was really good, really easy (if I had used dressing mix instead of cubing and toasting the bread myself it'd be nearly effortless). It's a good dish for a cold day...made the house smell like the holidays were on the way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
the flavor was incredibly good but the end result was soupy. I will definitely make it again but I will reduce the recipe to 1/2 cup butter and 1 1/2 or 1 cup chicken broth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States