Slow Cooker Escalloped Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
great! Used cranberry pumpkin seed bread for the stuffing and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by willsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This meal reminded me of Thanksgiving! It was delicious. I used 4 large frozen chicken breasts and placed them into the bottom of the crock pot. Cubed some french bread and placed on top of chicken. Then made the soup mixture using 2 cups of chicken broth for liquid. I cut the butter to 3/4 cup, but would do 1/2 cup next time. The stuffing came out a little too wet, but it was wonderful over mashed potatoes! After refridgerating and reheating it was firmed up and the perfect consistency. It is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICOOK4FUN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I'm sorry but this was not a great recipe. My husband, daughter and I all thought it was way too salty and too watery. I even baked my bread a little drier. As for the butter, wow, way too much. I won't be making or even trying to amend this recipes again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I used a package of sage stuffing mix from Pepperidge Farm, cut down the butter to 1/2 cup and used 2 1/2 cups of the juice from the chicken with bullion added (for flavor) I placed 1/2 of the stuffing on the bottom of the crock pot and then the chicken breasts and the remainder of stuffing on top. Turned out wonderful. I cooked it on low for 3 hours, any more and it would have burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I don't know what went wrong. It had some good reviews so it had to be me. I had 2 nice whole breasts on the bone from my organic pastured chickes I raise. I brined them for 24hrs and then browned them and put them on the bottom of the crockpot. I figured the bones would serve as a rack. Then I moistened some cornbread stuffing mix with chicken broth and the mushroom soup,leaving it a little drier than usual because of the mushy reviews. Put the stuffing on top of the chickens and set on low for 8hrs. Went to work and bragged to everyone about what a good meal I was going to have,even called my daughter and invited her family over. Came hoe fro work expecting the house to smell like Thanksgiving. Instead it smelled life my furnace blew up. I opened the crockpot and the stuffing looked like watery oatmeal. I dug down deeper to find the chicken burned on the bottom so bad that I couldn't even pry it off. I don't even know how that's possible. We opened a couple bottles of wine and gave it the cerimonius send off along with a few laughs,crockpot and all went into the garbage. I don't know what I could do differently. If anyone has any suggestions, I'm all ears. The upside????I get a shiney new crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Delavan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Taste was so so, but the dish is soggy and just looks unappetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
Too much work, soggy and easier to just stuff a chicken the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
I took the advice from several reviews and cut the butter as well as the liquid in half. The flavor is good but it still comes out pretty soggy. I'll probably keep the recipe just because it's so easy-- but if you're really craving chicken and stuffing, I'd go the extra mile and do them the old fashioned way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
So good!!! The flavor of the stuffing was out of this world! DH said he could eat it every day! After reading the other reviews, I too cut the butter in half and used less liquid ( 2 cups chicken broth) The other changes I made were, I sauteed the onion and celery in olive oil, used frozen boneless chicken breasts, and used 2 cups of chicken broth instead of water. I will cut the butter down even more next time ( 1/4 cup?) and since it was mushy, I will cut the broth back to maybe 1-1 1/2 cups . Really though......very very tasty and easy! I put it in my favorites...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manlius, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made this dish yesterday and all I can say is WOW! I followed the recipe to a "T" and it was perfect. So good, so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Zesty Slow Cooker Chicken Barbeque

See how to make zesty barbequed chicken in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States