Slow Cooker Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
After reading many of the reviews on this recipe, I modified the dish as follows: slow-cooked a 1&1/2 lb roast and diced yellow onion all day in two cans of soup, taco seasoning and 1/2 C water. Removed meat and shredded it, poured the seasoned soup mix into a bowl and stirred in the salsa, cheese, 1/2 C sour cream, and fresh cilantro. Stirred meat back into this mixture and started the layers. I sprinkled sliced olives on top of every layer. Cooked on high until the top layer of cheese looked melted (about 75 minutes). I kept my tortillas in the fridge all day, and that may have kept them from crumbling into mush while they cooked. All my husband and I could say while eating this was "oh my god this is good!", and we had to force ourselves NOT to eat the whole thing in one night. Reheated portions the next day (microwave for lunch, and oven for dinner), and it was even tastier! [ETA]: I have made this several times for potlucks at work, using the ground beef and doubling the amounts. I prep it the night before and put my 6 quart crock in the fridge, then heat it the next day at work. If you sprinkle cheese on top of every salsa/soup layer, and use a DOUBLE-thick layer of corn tortilla wedges, the tortillas do not get very mushy, even after sitting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1172 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
We had a potluck at work last week and our notice was the day before at 4:30. GEE, THANKS!!! Seeing that I didn't have much time to prepare, I found this recipe and figured it would be quick and simple to make. I'm so glad I found it!! I did make a few minor changes: I saw that quite a few people had noted that theirs had turned out "goopy" so I used 2 lbs of meat and also mixed in a can of drained black beans to give it some added substance. I reduced the water down to 3/4 cup and also cut the cheese in half (only used 2 cups). I used 1 and a 1/2 cups for the soup mixture and left the remaining 1/2 cup for the top. It was AWESOME!!!! It smelt, tasted and also presented itself very nicely!!! I was a little skeptical because I like to try out my recipes beforehand but this turned out to be a huge hit. There were no leftovers (which was a downfall for my family!!!) and I had to send out a mass email with the recipe because everyone kept coming by my office asking for it. Thanks so much for such a great recipe!!!! This is definately a keeper =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
626 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was very tasty! I altered the recipe a bit though... In slow cooker I used 4 frozen chicken breasts with the soups and taco seasoning. Cooked all day and then shredded the chicken and added kidney beans to make the enchilada filling. This is the perfect consistency and very good! Then I made enchiladas with the filling and cheese. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
360 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA DEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Definately do not use flour tortillas - it turns into mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
I was excited when I saw this on the weekly email. Slow Cooker Enchiladas, what a great idea. I was dissapointed as soon as I saw the ingredient list. with plastic/fake ingredients like "Taco Seasoning Mix", "Condensed Cream of Chicken Soup", and "Shredded Cheese Blend."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
Over all a very good recipe! I made a few alterations based on some other reviews, which I would suggest to others: Use at least 1.5 lbs of beef. Substitute regular soup w/ healthy choice low sodium (you could definitely get away with one can!) since this dish is salty enough. I used 12 corn tortillas, but I could suggest using more...even doubling the layers if you're a big tortilla fan b/c they seem to get lost in the mix. Definitely don't need 4 cups of cheese (I used between 2 and 3). I put a layer of refried black beans...one can...next time I will use 2 or 3 cans. I also baked this in a casserole dish at 350 for 40 min. Didn't see the point of using my slow cooker...unless you're planning to leave and then come back. My husband suggested using crunchy tortillas next time or even layering some Fritos corn chips! I will try that next time. The only thing I was disappointed in was that this dish turned out more like a dip than an enchilada casserole. Oh-and did I mention my 2 year old asked for seconds? :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I sit here with the serving spoon eating the last little tidbits from the crock – couldn’t let any of it go to waste – it’s that yummy. Never imagined that the soups would leave this dish tasting Mexicany, but they are subtle and let the other flavors shine. I like trying new recipes “as is” the first time but didn’t have enough salsa or cheese on hand, so substituted Mexican style tomatoes with green chilies (Rotel) and substituted a mixture of cheddar, pepper jack and cream cheese. Next time I will add green onions for color, plus I like them and double the amount of corn tortillas, I like them too. The only problem I had was that I cooked it for 2 ½ hours and still had to zap it a little to finish melting the cheese – perhaps my crock pot cooks at a lower temperature than yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Made this recipe exactly as stated (except adding sliced black olives to the top), and it was just OK; it was kind of bland, even though I used spicy taco seasoning for the beef. But when served over a bed of fresh shredded lettuce and tomatoes, then covered with my favorite brand of taco sauce, it went from 2-stars to 4-stars! The black olives on top were a big help, too. Next time I'll probably use a mixture of pepper jack and habanero cheddar cheeses to add some spice to it. I'll probably also add in another 50% ground beef, as there wasn't much to go around, and I'll use about half as much water in the meat. Worth trying for sure, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
A yummy dish! I slimmed it down by using the Healthy Request Campbell's soups (you could even use just one can in my opinion), cut the cheese in half and used reduced fat cheese. I also added fresh cilantro! I would recommend adding time to cook it - 2 hours would be good - and cut out some of the water of the meat mixture (I actually just followed the directions on the packet). And yes you need more that 10 tortillas. This dish could even be cooked faster in the regular oven. Will definitely do this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Everyone loved these- even the kids had seconds and thirds! Changes: I used ro-tel mild instead of salsa, flour tortillas instead of corn, and used cheddar and mozzarella because I didn't have Mexican blend. They were so easy to make and tasted so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by See2Gee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 528) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States