Slow Cooker Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I sit here with the serving spoon eating the last little tidbits from the crock – couldn’t let any of it go to waste – it’s that yummy. Never imagined that the soups would leave this dish tasting Mexicany, but they are subtle and let the other flavors shine. I like trying new recipes “as is” the first time but didn’t have enough salsa or cheese on hand, so substituted Mexican style tomatoes with green chilies (Rotel) and substituted a mixture of cheddar, pepper jack and cream cheese. Next time I will add green onions for color, plus I like them and double the amount of corn tortillas, I like them too. The only problem I had was that I cooked it for 2 ½ hours and still had to zap it a little to finish melting the cheese – perhaps my crock pot cooks at a lower temperature than yours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVEBREEZY
Photo by Carrie Magill
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Made this recipe exactly as stated (except adding sliced black olives to the top), and it was just OK; it was kind of bland, even though I used spicy taco seasoning for the beef. But when served over a bed of fresh shredded lettuce and tomatoes, then covered with my favorite brand of taco sauce, it went from 2-stars to 4-stars! The black olives on top were a big help, too. Next time I'll probably use a mixture of pepper jack and habanero cheddar cheeses to add some spice to it. I'll probably also add in another 50% ground beef, as there wasn't much to go around, and I'll use about half as much water in the meat. Worth trying for sure, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
94 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
This is a pretty great recipe. It tastes even better the next day. I used two cans of cream of celery soup instead of the mushroom / chicken combo. I used mild salsa which I thought would make it bland, but it had the perfect amount of "kick" to it. The only thing I would do differently would be to use more corn tortillas as I used twelve and they seem to be somewhat absorbed once they're cooked. I made a cornbread casserole with it (which I found on this site) and it complemented this recipe very well. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
not what I expected. It turned out to be soupy, mushy, not layered at all. I did not like the consistency. But, my husband liked the flavor, so I need to SERIOUSLY tweak this...and try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paojava

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This was very tasty! I altered the recipe a bit though... In slow cooker I used 4 frozen chicken breasts with the soups and taco seasoning. Cooked all day and then shredded the chicken and added kidney beans to make the enchilada filling. This is the perfect consistency and very good! Then I made enchiladas with the filling and cheese. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
354 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA DEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I thought these enchiladas were great! I used a few extra tortillas (about 15 I think), and 2 cans cream of chicken soup, and pepper jack cheese- gave it just the right amount of heat! Yum! Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Very easy and a cheap main dish......my husband and grandson both enjoyed this and they are both very picky. Also, I had leftovers for later. I highly recommed this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
Excellent slow cooker dish to prepare and cook. I chose to use shredded beef instead of ground beef and added more tortillas then it called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Great recipe!Super easy! I took this to a family potluck and it was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G Pendleton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collinsville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Claremore, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
Delicious and simple--just as good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States