Slow Cooker Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
I made this for a pot luck, and it turned out pretty good. This is the type of dish that actually is better the. Next day. I used extra cheese and salsa based on some people. Who said it was bland. The ingredients arent exact and its better to just eyeball it. I also think the next time I make this, I will double up on the tortilla layers......overall, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladymonchichi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Not the prettiest dish, but it tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Did the recipe exactly as is except for using flour tortillas instead of corn and I'll stick with the flour. The only thing I will change next time is adding more meat. My husband even loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
My family loved it! I changed a couple items. I used ground turkey instead of hamburger, and I used 2 lbs of it, while keeping all the other amounts the same. Well, except for the cheese. Only used 2 cups of that. Very yummy! Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julzygirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I added olives to the layers n sprinkled cilantro on top. Kept the meat on Med heat after it was browned b/x i didn't want it runny. Yummy! try adding lime juice, avocados next time From another note: After reading many of the reviews on this recipe, I modified the dish as follows: slow-cooked a 1&1/2 lb roast and diced yellow onion all day in two cans of soup, taco seasoning and 1/2 C water. Removed meat and shredded it, poured the seasoned soup mix into a bowl and stirred in the salsa, cheese, 1/2 C sour cream, and fresh cilantro. Stirred meat back into this mixture and started the layers. I sprinkled sliced olives on top of every layer. Cooked on high until the top layer of cheese looked melted (about 75 minutes). I kept my tortillas in the fridge all day, and that may have kept them from crumbling into mush while they cooked. All my husband and I could say while eating this was "oh my god this is good!", and we had to force ourselves NOT to eat the whole thing in one night. Reheated portions the next day (microwave for lunch, and oven for dinner), and it was even tastier! [ETA]: I have made this several times for potlucks at work, using the ground beef and doubling the amounts. I prep it the night before and put my 6 quart crock in the fridge, then heat it the next day at work. If you sprinkle cheese on top of every salsa/soup layer, and use a DOUBLE-thick layer of corn tortilla wedges, the tortillas do not get very mushy, even after sitting in the fridge overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vr6Dad
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
I usually try to make these recipes as-is the first time around, just to be fair to the original submitter; however, I tweaked this one from the start to suit my family's tastes. I used 2 shredded de-boned chicken breasts that I prepared in advance by stewing, cooling and then shredding. I also used Herdes salsa verde instead of the jar of chunky salsa called for in the recipe. I've found over the years that my family prefers green sauce with chicken or pork, and red sauce with beef when we are eating Mexican dishes. I used the 16oz jar of salsa verde and one can of cream of chicken soup and omitted the can of cream of mushroom. We're not a mushroom family, and I thought 2 cans of the soup would've been overkill. *** Next time I will use the reduced sodium soup. I used a round of queso enchilado cheese that I shredded just prior to putting into the recipe. I also used flour tortillas, as my wife doesn't care for the texture of corn tortillas sometimes. My slow cooker has a 10" round crock, so I used 10" tortillas for an easy layering system. As a side note, I used non-stick cooking spray on the bottom of the crock to help with clean-up and any issues of the tortillas sticking to the bottom, and it worked like a charm. I cooked everything for about 2 hours and it came out nice and melty cheesy and was easily spooned out. It isn't pretty to look at, but it doesn't matter once it's on your fork. This is definitely going into rotation in my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Savory and tasty. Make double next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VariableVeracity

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is AWESOME!!! I use A pineapple salsa and serve it with sour cream on the side. If there were 10 stars I would give it 10!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Think this would be really good when we modify a bit to fit our tastes. Still a good base to go off of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodlover5

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rice Lake, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Loved it - I did not have any salsa so I used a can of hot enchilada sauce and substituted the mexican cheese for mozarella cheese. I gave it a very spicy bite that we love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 494) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Enchiladas

See how to put a simple twist on big, beefy enchiladas.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States