Slow Cooker Egg Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I having been making this for years. I found the ham was too watery. I prefer to use bacon or sausage, or my favorite, bacon and sausage. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I've made this for the past several years for Christmas breakfast. It is great but it does taste best the next day as leftovers. The only change I have made over the years is use 2 packages of Jimmy Dean breakfast sausage instead of bacon. When I do this, I can use different flavors of bacon and skip the dill. The dill is a little off putting to some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by britstoke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This recipe saved the day! After my oven broke the morning I'm supposed to make a Quiche Lorraine for my office breakfast, I needed to quickly adjust my plan. The crock pot was a perfect idea, except that I didn't have 8 hours for it to slowly cook. So, I adjusted the recipe by fully cooking the hash browns on the stove and slightly warming the egg mixture on the stove (don't let the eggs cook). I then assembled the layers in the crock pot as instructed and turned it on high for 30 minutes, then turned it down to low for 60 minutes and it was perfectly ready. I took it into the office, turned it on warm and it was a hit for the office potluck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent recipe! Smells heavenly and tastes great! My one and only change is that I left out the dill weed (personal preference only, I'm simply not a fan of that flavor in my eggs). I have made this twice - once with bacon and once with ham (the ham was our favorite! and as a bonus, I could saute it with the veggies). When I did use the bacon, it was the quick cooking kind that goes in the microwave - quick, easy and far less messy than bacon splattering all over your stove in a pan! :-) Next time I am going to add some mushrooms - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I think it was great. I did it both ways... once with bacon and once with cooked breakfast sausage. Both were great. I used shredded velveeta cheese and it melted beautifully inbetween the layers. I didn't do anything with the hashbrowns except thaw them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is easy to make. Just do not over bake. It's nice when you have guests and are playing hostess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellycupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was really good! I used cooked ham in place of bacon and forewent the saute with the peppers/onion. I was not sure how this would work in the crock pot, but it worked! the texture was a bit different that you'd get in the oven, but not bad, merely different. While this isn't my *favorite* breakfast casserole, it is yummy enough that I'll make again because it's so easy to throw together the night before when we've got overnight guests. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BonisMama
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I've never made a casserole successfully in a crock pot/slow cooker, so I was leery to try this one. I swapped bacon for ham, and parsley for dill, and didn't spend the time sauteeing the garlic, onion, and peppers. (It was Christmas Eve! Had to get to bed before Santa arrived!) After reading a lot of the comments and reviews, we reduced the milk to 1/2 a cup, and only let it cook for 5 hours on low. (That was PLENTY!) While setting an alarm was a bummer, if we make it for a brunch, starting it when we get up at 5 is perfect timing. SUCCESS! The kids ate it up, the husband said it was delish, and even I was happy with the taste and texture. I may make it with less tater tots next time, and more cheese! Definitely going to try the sausage or bacon version next time! Thank you for sharing this! A new Christmas Morning tradition is born!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonisMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I have made this twice now. The first time I followed the directions and the whole family hated it. I decided I would try one more time and use this as a base but tweak it a little to make it more edible. It was much better this time around. I made the following changes: 1. I added salt and pepper to the potatoes. 2. I added cooked ham as well as the bacon. 3. I did not have cheddar cheese so I used mozzarella. 4. I used two cups of milk instead of one. 5. I added spices to the eggs, season all and cumin. I let this cook for 10 hours overnight and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gomez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Berserkr
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Add extra cheese on top for every serving when serving. Also, if use bacon double it! Cooking time was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States