Slow Cooker Egg Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was really good! I used cooked ham in place of bacon and forewent the saute with the peppers/onion. I was not sure how this would work in the crock pot, but it worked! the texture was a bit different that you'd get in the oven, but not bad, merely different. While this isn't my *favorite* breakfast casserole, it is yummy enough that I'll make again because it's so easy to throw together the night before when we've got overnight guests. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Berserkr
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Add extra cheese on top for every serving when serving. Also, if use bacon double it! Cooking time was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is easy to make. Just do not over bake. It's nice when you have guests and are playing hostess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellycupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent recipe! Smells heavenly and tastes great! My one and only change is that I left out the dill weed (personal preference only, I'm simply not a fan of that flavor in my eggs). I have made this twice - once with bacon and once with ham (the ham was our favorite! and as a bonus, I could saute it with the veggies). When I did use the bacon, it was the quick cooking kind that goes in the microwave - quick, easy and far less messy than bacon splattering all over your stove in a pan! :-) Next time I am going to add some mushrooms - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I having been making this for years. I found the ham was too watery. I prefer to use bacon or sausage, or my favorite, bacon and sausage. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was a hot mess. No flavor (how can this be with bacon?) Cooking time was WAY too long. I made it for company everyone thought it was awful but tried to salt it and dress up. (the part that wasn't burned) I just gave everyone cereal bowls, spoons and apologized.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made this recipe and followed the instructions to the letter. It was a major disappointment. I stopped the cooking at 8 hours because I could smell it beginning to burn. The texture of this dish was like insulation.. tasteless and rather unsightly. Honestly, I was embarrassed to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I did not care for this.... texture was spongy and not particularly pleasant. Smell wasn't exactly anything I'd want to smell either. Flavor was pretty bland and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I have made this twice now. The first time I followed the directions and the whole family hated it. I decided I would try one more time and use this as a base but tweak it a little to make it more edible. It was much better this time around. I made the following changes: 1. I added salt and pepper to the potatoes. 2. I added cooked ham as well as the bacon. 3. I did not have cheddar cheese so I used mozzarella. 4. I used two cups of milk instead of one. 5. I added spices to the eggs, season all and cumin. I let this cook for 10 hours overnight and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela Gomez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Made this and loved the smell all day. But the end result was dry and spongy. We grabbed some salsa from the fridge and that helped. Not sure if I'd make again without figuring out some way to counter the bland dry texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States