Slow Cooker Egg Brunch Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made this recipe and followed the instructions to the letter. It was a major disappointment. I stopped the cooking at 8 hours because I could smell it beginning to burn. The texture of this dish was like insulation.. tasteless and rather unsightly. Honestly, I was embarrassed to serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Good flavor, but not great. Mediocre texture and appearance. It is nice to have it cook overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Made this and loved the smell all day. But the end result was dry and spongy. We grabbed some salsa from the fridge and that helped. Not sure if I'd make again without figuring out some way to counter the bland dry texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
I think it was great. I did it both ways... once with bacon and once with cooked breakfast sausage. Both were great. I used shredded velveeta cheese and it melted beautifully inbetween the layers. I didn't do anything with the hashbrowns except thaw them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I agree with the spongy comment. It seemed too bland as well. Next time will try an oven baked breakfast casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I did not care for this.... texture was spongy and not particularly pleasant. Smell wasn't exactly anything I'd want to smell either. Flavor was pretty bland and watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Excellent recipe! Smells heavenly and tastes great! My one and only change is that I left out the dill weed (personal preference only, I'm simply not a fan of that flavor in my eggs). I have made this twice - once with bacon and once with ham (the ham was our favorite! and as a bonus, I could saute it with the veggies). When I did use the bacon, it was the quick cooking kind that goes in the microwave - quick, easy and far less messy than bacon splattering all over your stove in a pan! :-) Next time I am going to add some mushrooms - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I having been making this for years. I found the ham was too watery. I prefer to use bacon or sausage, or my favorite, bacon and sausage. delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
This is easy to make. Just do not over bake. It's nice when you have guests and are playing hostess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellycupcake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This was really good! I used cooked ham in place of bacon and forewent the saute with the peppers/onion. I was not sure how this would work in the crock pot, but it worked! the texture was a bit different that you'd get in the oven, but not bad, merely different. While this isn't my *favorite* breakfast casserole, it is yummy enough that I'll make again because it's so easy to throw together the night before when we've got overnight guests. THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Western Omelet

An amazing ham and hash browns omelet you make in the slow cooker.

Christmas Brunch Casserole

This hearty casserole is a hit at the holidays, or any time.

Sausage Egg Casserole

A great make-ahead casserole with sausage, mushrooms, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States