Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
This is a nice and easy recipe for beginner's potato soup. Using bacon bits is great for a no-mess clean up, but the smoke flavor from the bacon doesn't come through as much as it would with freshly fried bacon. The only real issue is that the recipe comes out slightly under seasoned. At the end, crack some fresh black pepper over the entire slow cooker, or on each bowl if you're serving a family member who likes bland food. After adding the fresh black pepper at the end, the soup was very good. It cost me $3.38 per serving to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Anne Hoehle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prospect, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
My husband is not a big fan of potatoes but loves this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This is so easy and delicious. I adapted it so that it was Gluten Free (for my daughter) by using corn starch instead of the flour. It was perfect!! I just made it for our neighbors and they raved about it too. It's a new family favorite!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
we threw in some pre-cooked chicken andouille sausage and used turkey bacon instead of regular bacon. Turned out amazing - nice level of spice and a hint of smokiness. Also helped make it slightly healthier. Totally will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
My family enjoyed this soup!! The only thing I changed was the bacon. I cooked it and cut it in to pieces. I added the bacon to the soup when I added the milk. Very yummy!! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was easy, flavorful, and very rich. I subbed veg broth for chicken and used fresh parsley. I love the addition of ranch dressing mix. This is much more interesting than your typical potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Excellent!!! Just had it for supper!!!! Wonderful flavor and very filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef ESQ
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This is awesome! It's been simmering all day (well, 5 hours on high) and just finished about 1/2 hour ago. Here are my modifications: I doubled the recipe, used 3 cups of chicken broth and 3 cups water, added about 6 teaspoons chicken bouillon powder to round out the 'chickeny' flavor, used onion powder instead of onions (onions aren't my favorite), and pan fried the bacon myself (I didn't want to use the store bought bacon bits). About 10 mins after adding the half and half, I also added about 5 oz of the reduced-fat 2% milk Velveeta (per the authors suggestion!) and it turned out AMAZEBALLS! I ladled myself a bowl and garnished it with shredded medium cheddar and sliced green onions. My fiancé was walking out the door and I told him (the guy in the profile pic is my fiancé) to take a taste. His reaction was 'Oh MAN that is delicious. I don't think we'll have any left to share!' Keep in mind I doubled the recipe lol. This dish is a winner, winner, chicken dinner and I will DEFINITELY be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef ESQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I am the writer of this recipe, and am so glad that others have enjoyed it! I wanted to mention a few things. First, if you don't have dry ranch dressing mix, you can make your own. It makes a large amount, but is great for so many things (on meat, in soups, burritos, etc.) To make it, simply combine and store in an airtight container: 1/4 cup dried chives 1/4 cup dried parsley 1/4 cup dried dill weed 2 tablespoons garlic powder 2 tablespoons onion powder 1 tablespoon salt 1 tablespoon ground black pepper Another variation my family enjoys is adding 1/2 cup-1 cup of Velveta Cheese. Also, for clarification, the 10 red potatoes are small-medium sized. If you buy the large ones, that are about the size of the palm of a hand, I would significantly cut back the number.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Super yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States