Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made this recipe exactly the way it was written except for the red onions which I didn't have on hand and I used russet potatoes instead of red because it's what I had. I used about 5 of those. Super yummy! Flavorful and filling. A lot of people said they actually cooked bacon instead of using the precooked kind and said not to add it til the end as a garnish but I used the precooked and it was fine adding it in at the beginning. Loved it and will definitely be making it again this fall and winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I loved this recipe. Very easy and really tasty! Only change I made was two cups of half and half instead on the recommended one. We will be enjoying this meal again on a cold winter evening!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BogeyBill

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
We like potato soup but I don't make it too often because my other recipes are labor intensive. This soup was fantastic, good flavor, and minimal prep. With this recipe in the arsenal I see my family enjoying potato soup more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pametra Briggs

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Great recipe, after cooking I like to mash some of the potatoes for thicker soup, we like diced ham added to the mix. Other than that I followed the recipe. Good stuff :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shiocton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Made this soup for Sunday dinner for the family! Everyone thought it tasted great, like a baked potato! We added a dollop of sour cream! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
So scrumptious! I pretty much followed the recipe. I didn't have seasoned salt on hand so I made my own (look online for recipe). I also couldn't find real bacon bits so I fried up my own bacon and then chopped them into little piece. I think using freshly cooked bacon gives a more flavorful soup. Only suggestion that I have is to chop the potatoes into smaller pieces (approximately 1 inch cubes or less) so that all the potatoes cook evenly and it's easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Love this soup. I didn't use the bacon, I did add celery. After I added half & half I add two tablespoons of butter. Fantastic. We did not use the cheese or the green onion. I did use chicken broth, instead of granules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Wow! I was looking for a recipe that woud remind me of a local restaurants potato soup my family loves, and this was spot on! I made two small changes. One was the bacon bits. I used real chopped bacon in place, as we do not like imitation bacon bits. The other was the ranch packet. By mistake I thought it said ranch dressing! So, since I did not have the packet, I used a 1/2 cup of the dressing. Wonderful flavor all around! I'll definitely be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Easy simple delicious recipe. I used russet potatoes instead of red. I didn't have bacon but the soup tasted just fine. I had left over duck broth and used that in place of chicken bouillon. I cooked on high for 4 hours. I added kale 1/2 hour before it was done and the kale added complimentary flavor to the soup. I accidentally added a packet of ranch instead of 2 tablespoons so I added an extra couple of cups of waters. I used shredded harvarti instead of cheddar and the flavor of the cheese complimented the flavor of kale. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiekapow
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Super yum! I used fat free half and half and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekapow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Early, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States