Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Tried this tonight and it was soooooo good! A nice change from regular ol' potato soup. Made exactly as listed, except I didn't have a red onion and used a sweet yellow onion. Also didn't have bouillon granules and threw in one bouillon cube. It was ready after 6 hrs on low. My 3 year old ate three bowls!! Very good on a cold winter evening. I'll be making again and again...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I have made this two times. The second time I mostly mashed the potatoes with a hand masher before I added the half and half. It made it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
delicious....needed it thicker so added instant potatoes...(.which I also add to my meatloaf)...I find it add an excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This is an awesome recipe! I won't make it any other way now! (except I add a little chopped celery to mine!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clay, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Very easy, onion can be substituted with leek and less bacon (I used 2 tablespoons) to make it a little heathier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I made this recipe today. It turned out with a really good flavor, but I did have to make some adjustments. When I put everything in the crockpot, the amount of water called for did not even cover the potatoes, so I added about twice as much. When I was ready to add the milk, I noticed it wasn't as thick as I was hoping for. I decided to stir some more flour into my milk to thicken (however this led to some lumps of flour I had to skim off). I had some leftover mashed potatoes in the fridge, which I heated up and stirred in to the soup and this provided the thickness I was looking for. I think in the future (when I may not have leftover mashed potatoes on hand) I would just add additional flour to the potatoes when putting everything in the crockpot. Also, I used 2% milk instead of half and half because I did not want all the calories and fat of the half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denisse Takes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
My husband loved this! Followed the recipe and it came out great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I just tried this recipe today... I accidentally bought Fiesta Ranch mix instead of plain, but I don't think that was such a bad thing...the soup turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Great tasting soup! I made this yesterday in my crock pot on the high setting and it was done in easily 4 hours. I opted to make it completely vegetarian so I left out the bacon and used vegetable Better Than Bouillon (a concentrated paste vs. a bouillon cube). I also added finely diced carrot for color and used one medium shallot instead of red onion. And I didn't have half & half so I replaced it with whole milk. I kept to the spices list exactly and it turned out delicious. I think the recipe is a great base. I can see other vegetables being added or meat variations. Don't be shy to swap the chicken base for vegetable. It really was delicious. I also saw some people mentioning the use of Velveeta. In my opinion, if you are going to make soup from scratch, best to use "real" food as much as possible. The traditional cheddar cheese I grated was perfect. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corlett5151

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States