Slow Cooker, Easy Baked Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Made this soup for Sunday dinner for the family! Everyone thought it tasted great, like a baked potato! We added a dollop of sour cream! Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melody
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
So scrumptious! I pretty much followed the recipe. I didn't have seasoned salt on hand so I made my own (look online for recipe). I also couldn't find real bacon bits so I fried up my own bacon and then chopped them into little piece. I think using freshly cooked bacon gives a more flavorful soup. Only suggestion that I have is to chop the potatoes into smaller pieces (approximately 1 inch cubes or less) so that all the potatoes cook evenly and it's easier to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Love this soup. I didn't use the bacon, I did add celery. After I added half & half I add two tablespoons of butter. Fantastic. We did not use the cheese or the green onion. I did use chicken broth, instead of granules.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Wow! I was looking for a recipe that woud remind me of a local restaurants potato soup my family loves, and this was spot on! I made two small changes. One was the bacon bits. I used real chopped bacon in place, as we do not like imitation bacon bits. The other was the ranch packet. By mistake I thought it said ranch dressing! So, since I did not have the packet, I used a 1/2 cup of the dressing. Wonderful flavor all around! I'll definitely be making this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Easy simple delicious recipe. I used russet potatoes instead of red. I didn't have bacon but the soup tasted just fine. I had left over duck broth and used that in place of chicken bouillon. I cooked on high for 4 hours. I added kale 1/2 hour before it was done and the kale added complimentary flavor to the soup. I accidentally added a packet of ranch instead of 2 tablespoons so I added an extra couple of cups of waters. I used shredded harvarti instead of cheddar and the flavor of the cheese complimented the flavor of kale. All in all a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katiekapow
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Super yum! I used fat free half and half and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiekapow

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Living In: Early, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I made it as written, but added carrots and broccoli just to get a few veggies in. I had fresh parsley so I used it, and substituted chicken broth because I didn't have bullion, I think both substitution were minor and did not affect the recipe. Family loved it! Easy to make, tastes great as it is written. Next time I may tweak it a little to meet my tastes, but its a can't lose easy meal to make out of things you have on-hand. I also cooked on high 5 hours and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fatball

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
AWESOME RECIPE ! Made this yesterday and it was crazy good & gone. The only thing I changed was that I used 1 cup of evaporated milk in place of the half & half. I will be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
I love this soup. It is so easy and so delicious. I usually add a few more potatoes to make it go further but other than that follow the recipe as written. It is so, so good. I have made it using chicken broth instead of bouillon when I had some broth to use up and it turned out great also. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
As written, this recipe is way too salty. A single serving has almost 70% of your daily allotment of sodium. With some modifications, this soup has become one of my favorites. I use half the bullion, omit the season salt, omit the red onion, and leave the bacon until the end as a garnish. If the soup comes out thin I add some instant mashed potato flakes to thicken it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poulsbo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Taco Soup

See how to make a 5-star, beefy taco soup with beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States