Slow Cooker Delight Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Terrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was terrible no flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I had to tweak this recipe A LOT! Here is what I did: 1. I used ground chuck instead of ground beef 2. I used about 1 cup of frozen whole kernel corn instead of cream corn 3. I added rice instead of barley 4. I used 2 small cans of tomato sauce and 1 can of petite diced tomatoes, drained 5. I used 1 yellow onion, chopped 6. I used about 1 Tbsp. of dried chives 7. I added about 1 Tbsp. celery salt, 1 Tbsp. sea salt, and 2 Tbsp. seasoned salt. It still did not really taste spicy enough so I added some more pepper and seasoned salt to my bowl. All in all, it is a good recipe. Just needed a little tweaking. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
After reading reviews, I altered this recipe and rated it according to my alterations: I upped the liquid, barley and added some more seasonings and boullion. 1 lb extra lean ground beef (seasoned with salt, pepper, garlic & onion while cooking) 3 medium potatoes, peeled & cubed 2 cups barley 1 8 oz can tomato sauce 6 cups water 4 beef boullion cubes 1 vegetable boullion cube (or 2 more beef cubes) 2 cups sliced, frozen carrots 1 cup diced onion 2 tsp to 1 tbsp black pepper 4 bay leaves 1 tsp garlic powder cook on low 5-6 hours. stir to loosen barley and keep from sticking to sides/bottom. add 1 can cream corn 2 cans green beans taste test for salt level check potatoes, carrots, barley for tenderness. If still not fork tender, increase temp to high for 30-45 minutes. Should not need more than 7 hours. makes 6 quarts! My 4 kids loved this, even asking for a third round! I am on Weight Watchers and not only is this filling, but very low in points!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweets_JME

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I was trying to throw something together with what I had around. (Probably didn't quite use what the instructions say either...) The result surprised me. My mom was really excited about it, the rest of us not quite as much but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RepEAT Bakery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Really not very good. Needs some extra seasonings of some kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Terreton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Along with the other reviewers my potatoes were not done after 5 hours of cooking. I added some more water and cooked it on high for an hour so the potatoes would be done. This is a good base but needs more spice and more veggies. It was a little bland for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRESAB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I am making this for tonight's supper. I started it before 7, but by noon, the potatoes still weren't done. I also added sliced carrots, which were also not done after 4 hours. I wasn't worried about it, though, since I didn't plan to serve it until dinner. I didn't brown the meat first and did add some beef base for additional flavor along with the salt and pepper and a bit of Adobo seasoning and paprika. I sampled it at lunch (minus the uncooked carrots and potatoes) and it really was good. Oh, and I didn't have barley, so I substituted rice in the same quantity, and I used diced white onions instead of green onions. Next time I might use pasta. It's totally worth trying and using as a canvas for other ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Okay, I am not one for giving bad reviews, but after I made this, I went back and re-read the whole recipe, and I didn't leave anything out. Just a bad combination of good ingredients. AND, when I cooked it on low for 4 hours as directed, the potatoes were not done and the barley was still crunchy. NOT a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Thompson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knowlton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This is pretty good and really hearty. I did make a couple changes. First, I used 4-6 oz sirloin steaks, cut up, instead of ground beef. I used 3 large potatoes and I added a 6 oz. can of V8 and a bay leaf. I think it could have used a couple more of the steaks but my crock pot wouldn't hold that much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin
Living In: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bob's Slow Cooker Braciole

Make a classic Italian stuffed flank steak in the slow cooker.

Easy Slow Cooker Meatballs

See how to make amazing meatballs in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pepper Steak

See how to make 5-star pepper steak in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States