Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
This recipe is absolutely perfect! I love creamy soups and this one had a great taste and the right thickness. Other than using a few more potatoes than called for, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is delicious! New family fave! I added carrots. I added the onion straight to the crock. Cooked the bacon before, threw in at the end. I also use heavy cream. I think this might have made the difference in the lack of thickness some people complained about. Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by workoutmom2b1g

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Great recipe, will definite make this again! Thankful I read some reviews before hand and modified a few things. I decided to leave out the bacon and used ready cooked bacon bits when ready to serve. I cut the potatoes into smaller cubes and was able to have it ready in 3 and a half hours on high. Skip the water and use 5 cans of chicken broth instead. I also used 1tbsp of onion powder, 1tbsp of garlic powder and doubled up on the dill weed, it turned out very flavourful and not bland at all. And 18% table cream thickened it up very well. Served with some cheddar cheese on top. Glad I came across this recipe! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was a great recipe to start with, but I always have to change some things to adapt it to a large family. I did cook the onion with the bacon, but it made my soup very greasy so I will cook it separately next time. I also added celery to the onion. I also added some parsley. Before I put the broth in the crock pot I sprinkled the flour over the potatoes. Still added the half and half at the end. The soup was extremely think. So I added more chicken broth to thin it. This soup was delicious, and quickly disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Amazing! Turned out plenty thick and not soupy at all. I will definitely follow this recipe as a guide for creamy potato soups from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
made this recipe tonight..and was so excited for dinner time. Followed the recipe to the 9. it turned out soo horrible! there was absolutely no flavor :( we couldn't even eat it :( not sure why it turned out this way? I had it in the crock pot, cooking all day...I even used a pound of bacon....the only thing I did different is I used regular chicken broth, I could not find any that said 'Condensed"? (not sure what that even is)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Brady van Hees

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I did use heavy whipping cream for the main cooking and half and half later if it got to thick or for reheating. Instead of bacon and onion like the beginning states, I added a tablespoon of butter and a bag of bacon pieces along with onion powder. After I added the flour mix, I added half a bag of cheddar also. My family loves this stuff! I make club sandwiches to go with it and a fresh pickle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by James Moyer
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Very good! First time making potato soup and this is by far the best I've had!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Moyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Pretty good, with some changes. First, I should note that I did not use condensed soup. I was able to save the recipe by adding a fair amount of shredded cheese and a bit of flour in addition to what is already suggested per the recipe guidelines. I found it needed salt and I used regular black pepper instead of the white pepper. I also added some onion powder to the mix. Turned out great with changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chance Margheim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States