Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This was pretty delicious. I did cook mine over the stove though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyTo4QTs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
We really enjoyed this hearty, body-warming soup. I usually make it a few days after making slow-cooked scalloped potatoes & ham, so that I can use the refrigerated leftovers in this dish. Your website has spoiled my husband; he doesn't enjoy dining out at restaurants as much as he enjoys what is slowly cooking and filling the house with delicious aromas, here at home :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Bernard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland Lake, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
I added some things and made this on the stove top since I got a late start on it. I added a grated carrot and 2 stalks diced celery and a heaping 1/8 tsp of minced garlic. I didnt use as much liquid since most people had problems with the broth being thin. I also added about a cup of shredded cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
UPDATE: SINCE I WASN'T A FAN, I GAVE MY PARENTS LEFTOVERS. ALTHOUGH MY DAD LIKED THIS, HE ALSO AGREED THAT THE SOUP WAS A TAD WATERY (BUT TASTY). This was allright.... Certainly not the best potato soup I've ever had, but not the worse one either. Had my soup thickened as it should have, I would have a different opinion. Even after 30 minutes on HIGH (I bumped my sc setting to high in hopes that my soup would thicken - 30 minutes on low did NOTHING), my soup was pretty watery. It seemed to thicken up after sitting on the warm setting, but was still a tad too thin for my liking. I invited my neighbor over for dinner and she ended up showing up an hour later than expected. Because the soup seemed to thicken over time, this worked out well. :) As many other reviewers did, I too cooked my bacon, drained it and saved to use as garnish. I then sauteed my onion in the reserved grease (mmm...) and proceeded as directed. For a pretty (and yummy!) presentation, I garnished each bowl of soup with my reserved bacon, snipped chives and shredded Monterey-cheddar blend cheese. Sourdough bread was a perfect accompainment. Although good, I think I'll stick with my stovetop recipe for ham and potato soup (it's MUCH better and just as easy to prepare). Thanks anyways, ROZANRENEE. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Nice but I had to thicken it up with 1/2 cup of flour and 1 tsp of corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sir_Angus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansasville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I doubled the recipe, added a block of cream cheese, a bunch of cheddar, used half half n half and half milk and no evaporated milk. I let it cool a bit and put it in the blender. It was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hollytower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Used heavy cream instead of half and half. Cooked the bacon first then removed the pan from the heat and added the onion. Then added the bacon right at the end to sauté it all together. Cooked the first 90 minutes on high heat. Then cooked for 7 hours on low. Topped with cheddar cheese and bagged 'real bacon' bits and some cayenne. Love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
not enough spice/flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I created the broth with a hambone and the ham left over from easter. Then added bacon, celery,bay and dill. Thickened it with 1/2 potato flakes and flour mixed with cream to minimize the flour content and/or taste. Came out great! Men can cook :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Not my favorite. Onions were strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 389) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States