Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
This is a very hearty and delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ta2oedgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Wonderful soup! I used heavy cream instead of half and half. Also added half a jar of (real) bacon bits and two cups of shredded cheddar the last half hour of cooking and oh my! Definitely not a diet food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This soup was very good! I liked how easy it was. I added some frozen corn at the end and some cheddar cheese as well. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This was actually very tasty. I was very concerned throughout the day because it looked like my soup was going to be greasy and burnt tasting due to the bacon being added first, but it was fine once I added the cream. I usually make baked potato soup, so I'm used to a thicker soup. Next time, I will add more flour to my mix to make it a little thicker. All in all, a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I read through the reviews before making this. I like that you can cut back the serving size on allrecipes so I changed it to four. Some of my changes: I didn't have an actual onion so I used 2 tspn onion, used 6 strips of bacon (I like bacon! I also figured it'd give it flavor), but didn't add it in the beginning. I added it in at the end in the last half hour phase. I didn't have Dill or white pepper so I used black pepper and 1/4 tspn celery seed. Before adding the last three ingredients in the last half hour (which I think I actually left on for an hour) I took out some of the potatoes and mashed them. I like a chunky potato soup, so how much you mash is up to you. It was lacking some flavor to me so I looked through my spices and added another 1/4 tspn of Thyme, Paprika, Oregano and Celery Seed. Oddly enough I also threw in 1/2 tspn of turkey gravy powder mix. I also played around with the liquid - I used less water and more chicken broth. I figured that it would get more flavor. I didn't want to open up another carton of cream (I had 8 oz and it called for 10 oz for my amount) so I used more evaporated milk since I had some left over (4 servings calls for appoximately 7 oz of evaporated milk and the can was 12 oz). I topped it with a shredded "Mexican" cheese blend, sour cream and real bacon bits. Kudos to the original recipe - it's a great base!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Like some others, I also had to tweak this recipe. But after doing so, it turned out really good. First of all, I didn't cook my bacon and onions together. I did my bacon first and set it aside. Then cooked my onion in the drippings for just a minute or two to let them soak up the flavor. I did NOT drain the grease. (This southern girl never wastes good bacon drippings. Paula Dean would be proud.) To keep the bacon from getting soggy, I didn't add it until I added the cream. Secondly, I read several complaints that it was too watery. So I only used 1 cup of water which took care of that problem. Thirdly, I read several complaints of it being too bland. I added 2 stalks of celery and 2 cloves of garlic to the mix. I didn't use the dill because my hubby isn't a big fan. After the taters got soft, I added the cream, then mashed them with a potato smasher and mixed them with a hand mixer (strongly recommended). At this point, you can taste-test it. I felt it was really bland and needed waaaay more salt. I didn't measure how much I used. I just kept putting more in there until it tasted right. Probably about 2 talbespoons. It needs more pepper too and I just used black pepper instead of white. I still felt it needed something so I added a little garlic powder and some onion flakes to the mix. Finally, I felt it was getting there, but that it needed more bacon!! I cooked more bacon to crumble on top of each bowl just before serving (about one and a half pieces per person).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
First time I made this recipe I followed everything to the T. After the taste test I have made some changes. I added some paprika about half a table spoon and some parsley as well. Chopped up some broccoli. Also, I used heavy cream instead of the half and half. Served in a bread bowl with cheese and sour cream on top. Of course, I know that if you are watching your calories the changes I did would make you want to cry but, for a cold Washington state night it helps keep you warm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was definitely a good soup. I hesitated to give it fewer than five stars, but since I changed the recipe around a bit, I have to. It was not getting thick in my crock pot, even after adding the flour and half & half, so I added more flour. Still a bit liquid for a cream soup. So, I took four cups of the soup out and pureed them in the blender. Better. Added more flour to that over heat and it thickened a bit. Added that back into the crock pot. I also skipped the dill and added a seasoning blend which has pepper, sea salt, mustard seeds, garlic powder, coriander, chili pepper and paprika in it. At the end of the cook time I steamed a bit of broccoli and some diced carrots and added that and about two cups of shredded cheese. We ate this in sourdough bread bowls and my family went back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is pretty good, although it's very plain. I left out the dill and used black pepper instead of white and it was tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I gave this recipe four stars because I made it for a house full of boys and they gobbled it up with enthusiasm! However, I felt it was just slightly bland for my taste. The seasonings definitely need to be kicked up a notch. After reading some other reviews I chose to use heavy cream instead of half and half, but I wouldn't recommend doing this as my soup was very thick. It also is best if you plan on consuming it right away, it doesn't appear to keep very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States