Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very good recipe. I did use twice the bacon and I mashed some of the potatoes at the end and mixed with the cream for the last 30 minutes. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
First I messed up putting the evaporated milk in with the chicken broth. Other than that.... *Sensational*. I served this with sliced beef tenderloin, and the combination was perfect. This tastes like a liquid baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Deliciously thick and creamy, just as I was hoping. Thank you for the recipe! I don't know why anyone would substitute heavy cream for the half and half, and I really don't understand the purpose of the evaporated milk (so I didn't use it). I followed the recipe as a basic guide but did make some adjustments. I'd list them all here but I know it can be annoying when other reviewers do that. I'll just say the reason I didn't give it five stars is that it definitely needed more salt and pepper, the bacon is best added towards the end so it doesn't get limp, and using all stock rather than any water really enhances the flavor. P.S. A useful tip learned from Chef John of foodwishes.com ... mash some of the potatoes about halfway through the cooking time to release more starch and thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I saute thinly sliced leek, then add the potatoes, water, salt, broth and 2 sprigs of fresh thyme (which gives the soup a wonderful flavor). No need to add flour. Mash the potatoes after they are cooked and before you add the cream and the soup will be of a good consistency. Also, add black pepper for more flavor. I haven't tried it with the bacon, but it sounds appealing to mo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Excellent soup. I've tried a little variation by using Italian sausage finely chopped and it's awesome as well. I love the creaminess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashaway, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Somerset, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Great recipe! Added more bacon to give it a little bit more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
This was very yum, but I also waited to add the bacon right before serving. Will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
This is a great soup but I did change it a little, I used stock in place of the water and used heavy cream in place of the half and half. I did take a lot longer than the 30 minutes to thicken but that may be down to useing thick cream. As I needed to save time, I did use the pre-cooked bacon that i added with cheese once served. tthis really was a great filling soup, perfect for these snowy winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
The best potato soup I've ever had, and it was so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States