Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
This was very good. I gave it 4 stars because I added seasoning to it. Garlic salt, pepper and onion salt. The consistency was perfect. I also just used chicken broth and no water. Sprinkled cheese on top. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Richmond, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Excellent recipe although I did make changes to satisfy my own tastes. I added about 3/4 c. finely chopped celery and a little more onion and salt. I also thickened this with cornstarch instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great recipe! Very creamy with good flavor. I cooked the bacon at the end and sprinkled it on top of the soup when serving. I also added some shredded cheddar to make a cheesy soup but the soup is very good plain or with cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Absolutely LOVED this soup! I made only minor changes, and it was GREAT! Instead of the condensed chicken broth and water, I used 5 cups of chicken broth. And, instead of the bacon, I used leftover ham. I sauteed the ham, onions, and carrots (great addition if you are trying to clean out your fridge) before throwing it into the crock pot. Topped it with some cheddar cheese. Very easy. Will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is a good basic recipe for chowder type soups. Not the best soup I've had. I did use ham instead of bacon, plus I added onion powder and a chicken bullion cube, because my stock was homemade. I didn't use the evaporated milk, too sweet. But it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
It was fine, but not great. Serving with bacon, cheese, sour cream, and green onions helped flavor it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is a GREAT recipe!! Came out perfectly!! I added a little garlic and I also used whole milk in place of evaporated milk because I had it on hand. Will def be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Rice Lomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very good recipe. I did use twice the bacon and I mashed some of the potatoes at the end and mixed with the cream for the last 30 minutes. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
First I messed up putting the evaporated milk in with the chicken broth. Other than that.... *Sensational*. I served this with sliced beef tenderloin, and the combination was perfect. This tastes like a liquid baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Deliciously thick and creamy, just as I was hoping. Thank you for the recipe! I don't know why anyone would substitute heavy cream for the half and half, and I really don't understand the purpose of the evaporated milk (so I didn't use it). I followed the recipe as a basic guide but did make some adjustments. I'd list them all here but I know it can be annoying when other reviewers do that. I'll just say the reason I didn't give it five stars is that it definitely needed more salt and pepper, the bacon is best added towards the end so it doesn't get limp, and using all stock rather than any water really enhances the flavor. P.S. A useful tip learned from Chef John of foodwishes.com ... mash some of the potatoes about halfway through the cooking time to release more starch and thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States