Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Great recipe! Very creamy with good flavor. I cooked the bacon at the end and sprinkled it on top of the soup when serving. I also added some shredded cheddar to make a cheesy soup but the soup is very good plain or with cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Absolutely LOVED this soup! I made only minor changes, and it was GREAT! Instead of the condensed chicken broth and water, I used 5 cups of chicken broth. And, instead of the bacon, I used leftover ham. I sauteed the ham, onions, and carrots (great addition if you are trying to clean out your fridge) before throwing it into the crock pot. Topped it with some cheddar cheese. Very easy. Will definitely use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
This is a good basic recipe for chowder type soups. Not the best soup I've had. I did use ham instead of bacon, plus I added onion powder and a chicken bullion cube, because my stock was homemade. I didn't use the evaporated milk, too sweet. But it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
It was fine, but not great. Serving with bacon, cheese, sour cream, and green onions helped flavor it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I wish Rozanrenee would make a version that isn't filled with so much fat and still is as good as it sounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
This is a GREAT recipe!! Came out perfectly!! I added a little garlic and I also used whole milk in place of evaporated milk because I had it on hand. Will def be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri Rice Lomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Very good recipe. I did use twice the bacon and I mashed some of the potatoes at the end and mixed with the cream for the last 30 minutes. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
First I messed up putting the evaporated milk in with the chicken broth. Other than that.... *Sensational*. I served this with sliced beef tenderloin, and the combination was perfect. This tastes like a liquid baked potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Deliciously thick and creamy, just as I was hoping. Thank you for the recipe! I don't know why anyone would substitute heavy cream for the half and half, and I really don't understand the purpose of the evaporated milk (so I didn't use it). I followed the recipe as a basic guide but did make some adjustments. I'd list them all here but I know it can be annoying when other reviewers do that. I'll just say the reason I didn't give it five stars is that it definitely needed more salt and pepper, the bacon is best added towards the end so it doesn't get limp, and using all stock rather than any water really enhances the flavor. P.S. A useful tip learned from Chef John of foodwishes.com ... mash some of the potatoes about halfway through the cooking time to release more starch and thicken the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I saute thinly sliced leek, then add the potatoes, water, salt, broth and 2 sprigs of fresh thyme (which gives the soup a wonderful flavor). No need to add flour. Mash the potatoes after they are cooked and before you add the cream and the soup will be of a good consistency. Also, add black pepper for more flavor. I haven't tried it with the bacon, but it sounds appealing to mo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 404) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker Scalloped Potatoes with Ham

Potatoes, Cheddar cheese, and ham simmer slowly in a creamy sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States