Slow Cooker Creamy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DebbyJean
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Used a London Broil. YummO. It fell apart. Melt in your mouth. Cheaper cut of meat, but just as good. Also, added noodles to crockpot last hour which gave the noodles more flavor than just cooking them. Had to add a little beef broth when I added the noodles. Hubby even liked..and he is not a big beef stroganoff fan. He said..yes..make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebbyJean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jex
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This was good (very basic, great base) as is, but also good and easy to customize. We made a few changes this time. We actually used ground beef to make it more appealing to our three-year-old. Browned the ground beef with water, worcestershire sauce, garlic, onions, pepper, and mushrooms in the crock pot for about 2.5 hours on high. Skimmed off about half the fat, then added the two cans of soup. Cooked about 2.5 additional hours o low, then added sour cream and 4oz of cream cheese. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jex

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Austin, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Incorporated many of the noted comments when making this recipe. Used french onion soup instead of cream of mushroom etc. When I added the sour cream I also added 1 cup of instant potato flakes. This made it nice and thick. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
Very good and very easy. I also used stew meat instead of a roast to save on time and was very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I make this recipe with quite a few changes. I use Golden Mushroom soup instead of Cream of Mushroom. I use stew meat which just makes it easier. Instead of the onions, I use 1/2 package of dry onion soup mix with 1/2 cup of water instead of 1/4. I only use 1 Tbsp. of Worcestershire, but add 1 tsp. of beef bouillon, and in addition to the sliced mushrooms add 8 oz. of whole button mushrooms, adding the mushrooms the last hour. Instead of the sour cream at the end, I add 4 oz. of cream cheese, but add a dollop of sour cream to each serving. WOW....guess I should have just submitted my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Although we enjoyed this dish, it turned out rather watery. I don't understand why, but a bit thicker would have made it nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
One of my favorites. However I use a cheap Burgandy in place of the water. I also use the stew meat as a less expensive option since whatever you use will break down and be tender. The wine really gives it a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I thought this was decent, but not as good as I'd hoped. I made it almost exactly as written, the only changes being that I had less bottom round on hand (about 1.5 pounds), and my noodles were no-yolk extra-wide egg noodles. I like onions, but I found the coarsely chopped onions to be a bit out of place here. I did follow the "recipe tip" to brown the steak beforehand, and I think it probably made a big difference. It was worth trying, but I'll probably move on to another stroganoff recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
1st time my family and i have had beef stroganoff and we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by papiernikc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaver Dam, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
I made a few changes to this because I only used items that I already had on hand to avoid a trip to the store and save a few dollars. I used 1 can of Cream of Chicken and 1 can of Cream of Mushroom, no water (the sauce thinned out enough without it)and I doubled the Worcestershire sauce. I omitted the mushrooms, replaced the sour cream with non fat plain Greek yogurt, added 1/8 cup unsalted butter and only used 1 onion (3 seemed a bit excessive to me). I used stew meat since it is much cheaper and I seasoned with garlic and a grilled beef seasoning (I used Daddy Hinkle's but Montreal Steak or similar would be just as good). I agree with some of the reviewers that the sauce was thin but I just combined the sauce with the noodles and served it instead of each person topping their noodles with the sauce. My kids devoured it and even my picky husband got seconds. This meal is going into my dinner rotation. Next time I will use a bit more seasoning but I don't think I will change any of the adjustments I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States