Slow Cooker Creamy Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
pretty good - certainly easy, but lacks a little tasty. maybe add paprika and some garlic salt or Mrs. Dash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty much as is. I used 1 family sized can of cream of mushroom soup and used leeks instead of onions due to an allergy to cooked onions. I also used beef already cut up for stir fry to cut down on time and effort. It turned out fairly good. It was a bit bland though, and my husband said the meat had lost it's 'beef' taste, so maybe it didn't need to be cooked as long. It was done after only 6 hours. My hubby suggested I use the same recipe using a whole roast and a little more spices and thicken it with flour as I could not get it very thick with the sour cream, even with almost a full 16oz. I think flouring the meat and searing it might also help with the flavor and thickening. I will try it again as it is very easy, just needs tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This wasn't bad for as easy as it was. Not as good as if I made it on the stove but it was much easier. The texture was a bit odd and I'm not sure why. I left out the water because other reviews said it was runny. And I made my own cream of mushroom that was gluten free. I might make it again but I would leave the onions out next time as onions in a slow cooker get very sweet and I think it kind of throws off this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This was absolutely fabulous! I added soy sauce and some potato flakes as some other reviewers suggested. Other than tose small changes - this was so good and will be added to our favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I loved it! I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream, and it came out just amazing. Also, I cooked meat for 6 hours, and added green peas with cooked carrots on the side. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadia
Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
This was , 4 onions!, I had two large and my meat and sauce all tasted of strong onion!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mn800r

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Scandia, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I would like to suggest adding 2 tablespoons of tomato paste and a teaspoon of mustard powder to the recipe as written. If wine is added in place of water(good idea,) it should be a dry white wine, if you use red, it becomes a cross between Stroganoff and Beef Burgundy which might taste good too, but I've never tried crossing the two, each has its own excellent flavor. The beef will be easier to slice thin if it is partially frozen, and will also be more tender (with less cooking time) if cut cross grain. I agree, the beef should be browned before adding to the pot, how about deglazing the skillet with the wine to get all the flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Delicious and EASY! I added a few shakes of red wine vinegar when I added sour cream. Definitely making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
I make this recipe with quite a few changes. I use Golden Mushroom soup instead of Cream of Mushroom. I use stew meat which just makes it easier. Instead of the onions, I use 1/2 package of dry onion soup mix with 1/2 cup of water instead of 1/4. I only use 1 Tbsp. of Worcestershire, but add 1 tsp. of beef bouillon, and in addition to the sliced mushrooms add 8 oz. of whole button mushrooms, adding the mushrooms the last hour. Instead of the sour cream at the end, I add 4 oz. of cream cheese, but add a dollop of sour cream to each serving. WOW....guess I should have just submitted my own recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA
Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have been making this for many years with one exception, I use campbell's golden mushroom soup. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Campbell's Kitchen French Onion Burgers

Burgers never need to be basic again! Try this great recipe with dipping sauce.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States