Slow Cooker Creamed Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This worked out so good for me. I brought this dish to church for a pot luck because the Pastor made a comment how he loved creamed spinach. He raved about it and wanted the rest that was left to go to him to take home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Streamwood, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
This recipe deserves all 5 stars for its simplicity and tastiness. When I make this, I mix all the ingredients in the crockpot (saving myself from cleaning an unnecessary dish), cover, and let it cook for hours. I agree with the other reviewers that said it did not need to cook for that long, so test it after a few hours. Also, this recipe calls for only 2 packages of spinach, which makes the dish too runny - it ends up more like a dip. I added an additional package of spinach, for a total of 3, and it turned out perfect. You can use any cheese you would like, as well. I used white cheddar and it was delicious. This recipe has been around for decades (my great aunt used to make this in the 70's), so it's definitely a keeper. Just tweek it to your likeness, and you'll have this staple creamed spinach recipe for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
My husband nor I didn't care for this as a side dish, however, I reheated this and served this to some guests as a dip with some Tostitos chips and they gobbled it up and asked for the recipe. I wasn't very impressed with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Creve Coeur, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
This was really good spinach. The only thing I did differently than the recipe said, was I just mixed everything together inside the crock pot instead of mixing it in a bowl and dumping it in. Saved me a dish! I also lined my slow cooker with one of those slow cooker bags, so I had no mess. This was delicious and simple. Next time I may tweak the spices just for fun, to see what happens. I used light cottage cheese and american cheese, and next time I may use egg whites just to keep this dish low fat and not cancel out the health benefits of spinach. I served this it a birthday dinner with lots of family. Most of the kids wouldnt' try it because it had spinach in it, but a couple did and they were surprised that they liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraKKH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: White Stone, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe...I just made it and can't wait for dinner time to come so I can eat it! I agree with others who say you don't need to cook it that long. Maybe only an hour and a half or so - that's what I did and it tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
I loved this! I also made some changes: I replaced the American Cheese with feta cheese, cream cheese, yogurt and parmesan cheese (what I had in the house). I also cooked in on high for about 1.5 hours and low for about 1.5 hours and it came out really good. As another reviewer suggested, I used a hand blender to blend it all up after the initial hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
One of my friends makes this dish, my husband & I love it! I was stuck in the hospital for 2 weeks before the birth of my daughter. I was really wanting this dish, so my friend made it & plugged the crock pot in my hospital room. It smelled so good all the nurses came in to ask what I was having!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
I really did not like this dish. It was really mushy and sick. I didn't even serve the dish. I also agree this the others that it didn't take that long in the crock pot. Mine only took about 3 hours. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I love spinach, but found this too rich, too salty... like a little spinach with my cheese. I scaled it back to 4 servings but found it didn't have a nice taste. Agree with the other reviewer, it didn't need 5 hours in the crock pot - but I probably will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fast and Easy Creamed Spinach

See a few simple shortcuts for making easy creamed spinach.

Cheesy Creamed Spinach

See how to make simple homemade creamed spinach.

Slow Cooker Mashed Potatoes

See how to make creamy mashed potatoes in the Crockpot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States