Slow Cooker Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is an incredibly easy and very delicious recipe. I modified it slightly by adding a can of chicken broth before adding the rest of the water, but otherwise did not add or change anything. I cooked it on low for 5 hours which was more than sufficient and used a potato masher instead of dragging out my blender and dirtying another item. This left a few minor chunks of potato in the soup which added to its consistency. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This was wonderfully easy. I used chicken stock (kitchen basics is the best!)instead of water and 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the evaporated milk. I took the suggestion of topping with shredded cheese and bacon crumbles and made Beer Bread 1 from this site it was the perfect accompaniment. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This soup is wonderful and easy. I threw some broccoli and cheddar cheese at the end and it was a big hit. My husband said he'd give it ten stars if he could. From one busy mom to another, thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I am the original submitter of this recipe, and I just wanted to add a note about blending the soup. Yesterday was the first time I tried putting it through the blender cold, and it was awful! What a terrible texture - all lumpy and grainy. I'd definitely recommend blending it hot, very carefully. DO NOT FILL THE BLENDER TOO FULL! Half way should be good. Another option is to use one of those blender wand things, and blend it right in the pot. The texture is much better then. Thanks to all who have reviewed this recipe so far! I hope many of you enjoy this soup as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wyoming, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Good recipe! Makes for a nice base to add items to. Thought it needed a little more salt & pepper, but you can add that to taste as you serve. It is good just by itself, but we have added just cheddar cheese, broccoli & cheddar, bacon and cheddar, canned corn & bacon. The possibilities are endless. Plus its easy to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Wow! This was so simple and very good. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 only because it was way too salty and I had to add some regular milk (in addition to the evaporated milk) because it was so thick. I will definitely make this again with less salt and more milk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Great!!! Added 1/2 tsp basil 1/8 tsp thyme and 1 large clove garlic, topped with shredded cheddar and real bacon bits. Served with turkey and swiss sandwiches on crusty french bread. Fantastic will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Great base recipe. My slow cooker was filled to the brim. You will need a large crock pot for this one, or cut the recipe in half. I also added some corn startch at the end because it was still to thin. I have two quart size bags left in my freezer that I will be heating up for lunch out on the ski slopes. We added cheese and bacon bits (buy the bag of real bacon bits, it sure beats the mess that bacon makes, costco sells a large bag that is reasonable, that's a staple in my house).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is so easy and so yummy! No leeks at my local market, so I used a Spanish onion instead, and added some sauteed carrot and celery after I mashed up the soup - no blender so I used a potato masher before adding extra veggies. I can imagine this would be amazing with some bacon or smoked sausage, as the contributor suggested. A little cheddar cheese on top is great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
this recipe was so easy! coming from someone who does NOT cook very well. it was a big hit. (people actually took seconds. i'm not used to that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHMELLYK1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States