Slow Cooker Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
This soup is wonderful and easy. I threw some broccoli and cheddar cheese at the end and it was a big hit. My husband said he'd give it ten stars if he could. From one busy mom to another, thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
this recipe was so easy! coming from someone who does NOT cook very well. it was a big hit. (people actually took seconds. i'm not used to that)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHMELLYK1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Good recipe! Makes for a nice base to add items to. Thought it needed a little more salt & pepper, but you can add that to taste as you serve. It is good just by itself, but we have added just cheddar cheese, broccoli & cheddar, bacon and cheddar, canned corn & bacon. The possibilities are endless. Plus its easy to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is so easy and so yummy! No leeks at my local market, so I used a Spanish onion instead, and added some sauteed carrot and celery after I mashed up the soup - no blender so I used a potato masher before adding extra veggies. I can imagine this would be amazing with some bacon or smoked sausage, as the contributor suggested. A little cheddar cheese on top is great, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was so easy and delicious. I will definitely make it again. I only changed it by adding four leeks and a 1/2 tsp of sea salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKLE33
Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
This was wonderfully easy. I used chicken stock (kitchen basics is the best!)instead of water and 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the evaporated milk. I took the suggestion of topping with shredded cheese and bacon crumbles and made Beer Bread 1 from this site it was the perfect accompaniment. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Great!!! Added 1/2 tsp basil 1/8 tsp thyme and 1 large clove garlic, topped with shredded cheddar and real bacon bits. Served with turkey and swiss sandwiches on crusty french bread. Fantastic will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
Wow! This was so simple and very good. I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 only because it was way too salty and I had to add some regular milk (in addition to the evaporated milk) because it was so thick. I will definitely make this again with less salt and more milk. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
So good. My picky eaters loved it too. I didn't have time for the slow cooker, so this was made on the stove. I forgot to buy the leeks, so I sauteed the onions in butter until golden. I also added garlic, garlic salt, and we sprinkled the top with cheese and had brauts with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkkellie
Home Town: Turlock, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I was excited to try this because of the great ratings, but I found it to be a rather bland soup. I even tried spicing it up with a few of the recommended spices, but it just didn't have great flavor or consistency. I'll keep searching for a great potato soup recipe for the winter months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States