Slow Cooker Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Made some small changes. I used 5 large baking potatoes (seemed like a lot). I also replaced some of the water with a 32 oz. carton of vegetable broth (thought I was adding chicken broth) and then topped off with water and 1 bouillon cube per cup of water. I went easy on the salt since I was adding broth and I omitted the pepper since I don't like it. Make sure you let the soup cool a bit or it may explode from the blender! This soup is amazing!! My 7 year old had FOUR servings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was such a good but easy recipe. Our whole family, even our picky 2-year-old, loved it! I did make a couple of changes - based on what I had in the kitchen at the time. I used 3 cups of low-sodium broth instead of boullion cubes, 1 cup of half and half & 1 cup of milk instead of evaporated milk, and I used a potato masher rather than a blender to mash the potatos, in order to leave some texture. This soup cooked perfectly and tasted great after a busy day at work - paired with a nice salad and crusty break, it was a lovely, easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
The soup didn't have a lot of flavor so I added a can of corn and made it into a corn chowder. After that I thought it was a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Great flavor. Used a litle more salt, but overall I really liked this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris McCoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Like other reviewers have stated, this is a very good basic potato soup recipe to build from. Adding what has been suggested by the contributor or other reviewers is a must for a well-rounded flavorful soup. I, too, only processed 1/2 the soup and left the rest in slightly mashed chunks. I added corn (would have also added broccoli and celery, but had none). The soup still ended up needing something, so I added cheddar cheese to the pot of soup itself and stirred till melted. That did the trick - especially for the kids. There are many, many possibilities for this recipe. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Great base recipe. My slow cooker was filled to the brim. You will need a large crock pot for this one, or cut the recipe in half. I also added some corn startch at the end because it was still to thin. I have two quart size bags left in my freezer that I will be heating up for lunch out on the ski slopes. We added cheese and bacon bits (buy the bag of real bacon bits, it sure beats the mess that bacon makes, costco sells a large bag that is reasonable, that's a staple in my house).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
This is an incredibly easy and very delicious recipe. I modified it slightly by adding a can of chicken broth before adding the rest of the water, but otherwise did not add or change anything. I cooked it on low for 5 hours which was more than sufficient and used a potato masher instead of dragging out my blender and dirtying another item. This left a few minor chunks of potato in the soup which added to its consistency. I definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This soup was easy to make, but it has a terrible smell. My husband wouldn't even try it, and I ate just one serving. The soup's texture and taste weren't so bad, but there was an after taste which resembled the smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Excellent soup! Freezes well, too..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Silver, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Johnsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
I loved this. I left about half the soup unblended which gave it some nice potato chunks. I added some turkey kielbasa (sliced) to the soup and served it with crusty bread. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States