Slow Cooker Cream of Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
This was excellent! Thank you for the recipe! I didn't have leeks but it was great anyway. It was my first time making this kind of soup. I chopped up the potatoes nice and small, added chopped bacon with the onion, and a couple scoops of salsa and chilli pepper sauce. I slow cooked on high for 2.5 hours before blending it, then added celery, carrots, peas, corn, mushrooms, red pepper, cooked for another hour and voila! beautiful soup. Topped with cheese and bacon of course. Super hardy and flavourful. Great as left-overs, the flavour gets even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I doubled this recipe made 5 quarts, added carrots, ham & cheese. I left some carrots & potatoes chuncky. Like the texture much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Very good, I modified a bit. Added chicken broth instead of bullion and water, extra onion, no leeks. At the end, after the evaporated mild was added I added a bit of plain greek yogurt (1/4C) and 1C cheddar cheese. Then I used an immersion blender to blend partially to make creamy but leave chunks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I used chicken stock instead of boulion cubes. I added mushrooms and ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
Absolutely lovely! Garnished with cheese and bacon bits, but really, it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Too many leeks, and under no circumstances would I ever put potatoes in a blender or food processor or mash or cream. They will turn to a thick gluey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
Outstanding recipe! The only thing that I didn't do was blend it. I like it chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Deliciious! I used a handheld blender into the crock pot and it made it really smooth and creamyy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
I made this soup on the stove and added 1 t. or so of dill weed based on other recipes I saw. I also used more bullion (1 cube/cup of water) and olive oil instead of butter. It was amazing. I think I might skip the additional salt next time since the bullion already has a lot, but I rarely use salt, so it might have just seemed a little extra salty to me and others would not think it overly salty. Definitely the best potato leek soup recipe I've ever made, and I've made a lot of them. A keeper for sure. I think it would adapt nicely to become a clam chowder base as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
Very good! I was hoping I wouldn't have to blend the soup but I did have to. The only soup I've had that was better was when the potatoes were baked first. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Slow Cooker French Onion Soup

A cheesy French onion soup with a comforting beefy broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States