Slow Cooker Cranberry Turkey Breast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I put a split turkey breast in the slow-cooker, added 1 cup of cranberries and 1/4 cup orange juice, then put it on LOW for around 6 hours. I drained the liquid, mashed the cranberries, added a can of cream of chicken soup and half a can of water to make an amazing gravy. It ws very tasty and the color was added another dimension. Couple that with turkey dressing, peas and mashed potatoes, it was an easy mid-week dinner. The hard work already done by my slow-cooker; the greatest invention since I don't know what. Lastly, I agree with some of the other folks in terms of the dry onion soup mix. Not a good addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I thought this recipe was wonderful as is, but I may take the advice of one reviewer and double the sauce recipe to get the turkey fully covered while cooking. Either way it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christykilgore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charleston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I have been making this for years, with one addition. about an hour before the turkey is ready I add a can/jar of turkey gravy to the crock pot. It makes a delicious gravy!! Try it !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Fantastic recipe! So easy and so great. Maybe those who don't like it just have different tastes, but there's no problem with the recipe. Only advice: if you have a large slow cooker, double the sauce, just to make sure the breast is well covered. But we loved this dish and will keep coming back to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I thought this was very tasty. My husband also enjoyed. We like whole cranberries so this is what I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I was hesitant about using the onion soup mix and was right - I thought it overpowered the cranberry and OJ and gave it an odd taste (not to mention the processed, unnatural ingredients in the soup mix). I tossed the juice and now have to salvage the turkey somehow. Gave the recipe two stars for the idea of using the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I substituted chicken breasts for the turkey since that is what I had on hand. It turned out great...served it with stuffing on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I used frozen chicken breasts instead of turkey (cooked it about 12 hours on low) and served with mashed potatoes. It was soooo incredibly good! Will most definitely be adding this one to the "do again" file!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
In brief: Meat good, sauce too sweet. Recipe not specific enough about ingredients. More salt needed or more acid needed. Only average when made as directed. I found this dish too sweet. I used the OceanSpray whole berry cranberry sauce, which is jellied. Maybe that is the wrong one to use, but the recipe isn't specific about that. Since one cook found the dish too sour, I wonder if a combination of jellied and regular cranberry sauce would work? I made it on the bone and also did high for one hour, followed by six hours on low. Meat fell off the bone. It needed a lot of salt and was just too sweet for us. I was disappointed, but might try it again with the addition of perhaps fresh lemon juice? Something needs to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I have made this many time in the past and love it. Serve with Stove top stuffing and add crasnberries and walnuts in it....MMMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bedwards

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Turkey Breast

This moist, meaty turkey breast has just two ingredients—it couldn't be easier.

Laura's Quick Slow Cooker Turkey Chili

See how to make a super-simple ground turkey chili in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States