Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
I made this using a pork roast as another reviewer suggested. It was good, but not great. I’m generally not a fan of dry onion soup mix, but I decided to give this a try anyway. The sauce didn’t thicken up well for me and was rather thin. I would make this again if I were pinched for time, because it goes together in about two minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Fabulous! I made this with a pork butt roast (boneless shoulder, 3 lb). I didn't change anything other than the meat and it turned out amazing. My boyfriend raved about it. As other reviewers have said, the gravy is sweet, but not unbearable. I really liked the gravy a lot! This recipe is going in my normal rotation!! Try this recipe!! You won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manistee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Tried after reading reviews as I could not imagine the taste with the ingredients. I let everyone rave about the taste before I divulged the ingredients. Thank goodness I made enough to freeze as everyone went back for seconds and some thirds on the meat. A keeper!! Served with mashed potatoes and carrots. I did brown the meat prior to putting in slow cooker and added a sliced fresh onion. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Absolutely delicious! My husband raves about it. I did take other reviewers' advice and used a 3 lb pork roast instead of beef. Makes plenty of delicious sauce! Served it with peas and mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
This is the BEST slow cooker pot roast.I adde 3 tbs of cornstarch in place of the flour and butter and the gravy was excellent.A definate keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washingtonville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used a pork shoulder roast, not beef. This was incredibly easy, and though at first it seemed like it would be dry, and I was worried when the cranberry sauce didn't melt in the first couple hours, but by the time it was in the slow cooker for the full 8 hours, it turned into a wonderful moist pork roast. Everyone raved about it. Even my picky-eater 10 year old grandson!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayzata, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I like the sweetness from the cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
mmm mmm good! this makes the best tasting gravy ever. and its so easy. I have made this several times with pork shoulder roast and beef. either way you cant go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This, obviously, was really simple to make. We used chuck roast, but someone in the house cut the roast up because they didn't understand the concept of a roast (cough*mom*cough) so I cooked it for just over 5 hours instead of 8. The meat was perfect (no pink, I wouldn't mind it pink). The sauce was not sweet at all for me or those who ate it here. Next time I think I'll use two cans of cranberry sauce instead of one. Still, it was delicious and would love to eat the left overs now instead of getting take out (but I must for a school fundraiser!). I served it with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Wonderful flavor! I made this with pork loins, which literally fell apart, but that allowed the sauce to cook into the meat even more. Husband said this is a keeper! I did not need the butter/flour at the end; it was plenty thick enough (I even added a bit of water to give us enough sauce for noodles)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 428) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States