Slow Cooker Cranberry Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
It was ok. Kind of bland. I thought the cranberry gave it a weird sweetness. I won't make a roast with cranberry again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Faribault, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Delicious! I actually used a boneless pork shoulder roast. I also added a can of whole berry cranberry sauce and then doubled the butter and flour at the end. Served with mashed potatoes. Even my kids loved it. I've added this to my list of faves for my crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made the recipe with one substitution, I had a can of cranberry sauce with whole cranberries in the pantry already so I used that. The roast turned out great! Tender and with a slightly sweet flavor. The leftover meat was fantastic in barbque sauce the next night. But the "gravy" tasted very weird. Too sweet for me. It might be better with pork, but I doubt I'll try it again. Except to cook the roast in and then toss the "gravy". The meat, it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
It was ok as is. It had an odd taste and smell to it. After looking at some similar recipes on here, I added 1 cup Thousand Island dressing, 1 cup apricot preserves, 1/4 cup red wine, 2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar and 1 tsp Worcestershire sauce. Then I cooked the sauce another 1/2 hour or so. That made it taste a lot better, but I'm not sure I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by clnoxuk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Frederick, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
This is so fabulous, you can't define the cranberry sauce it just has a little bit of a sweet, beefy taste. I was wondering if there should have been some liquid in it, but I made it just as directed and ended up with plenty of gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nana To Ten

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Milford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Terrrrific - 4-1/2 Stars is too low a rating. Really interesting taste. We loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
Just ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Great! Sprinkle English or Church Roast with garlic & onion granules & pepper (no salt required); sprinkle with all purpose flour just to cover. Heat EVOO in a pot with NO non-stick surface to get a nice brown color on the outside of the roast. Watch the heat b/c this surface can get hot quickly and cause everything to stick or burn...not the objective! Also, be sure to brown for about 5 minutes per side but include the narrow ends of the roast. The goal is to seal in the juices. Remove roast and set aside. Thoroughly mix the cranberry sauce & the dry onion soup mix in a bowl. Reduce the drippings to medium heat and add about 1 cup of low sodium beef broth (add more if desired but not more than 1 cup total). Stir to incorporate the drippings with the broth, then add the combined cranberry sauce/dry onion soup mix to heat through for about 2 minutes. This allows all the flavors to be incorporated before adding to the slow cooker. As well as reducing cook time b/c all ingredients have been thoroughly heated before placing in the cooker. (Pre-heat your cooker slightly too!) I'm always looking for a way to reduce cooking time in the cooker so I can enjoy the meal sooner that the 6-8 hours suggested. I cooked 5 lb. of roast in 4 1/2 hours on high with an additional half hour to thicken sauce as needed. Slow cooking requires patience of which sometimes I don't have but this recipe is well worth the wait! Served with Crashed Hot Potato recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJT1968

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Used on an Arm Roast and it turned out great. I had added a little water but wasn't needed. Used my homemade dry onion soup mix - its so easy and cheap to mix up and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
DELICIOUS! A definite must try and super easy to make!! I only did one thing different - when the meat is done, take the drippings out of the slow cooker and pour in a pot, put on the stove. Add the flour and butter as stated and make your gravy there! I found it took a long time in the slow cooker and didn't get the gravy texture I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 420) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States