Slow Cooker Country-Style Spareribs Recipe - Allrecipes.com
Slow Cooker Country-Style Spareribs Recipe
  • READY IN 10+ hrs

Slow Cooker Country-Style Spareribs

Recipe by  

"This is an easy slow cooker recipe. This dish ranks as one of my family's favorite Sunday meals. Serve over cooked rice, using sauce as a gravy. My family is picky so I cut the green pepper and celery in larger pieces so I can pick them out before I serve the meal. It doesn't change the flavor, but my kids don't complain about the icky green stuff."

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 8 servings Change Servings
ADVERTISEMENT
  • PREP

    30 mins
  • COOK

    10 hrs
  • READY IN

    10 hrs 30 mins

Directions

  1. Season ribs with salt and pepper to taste. In a large skillet, over medium-high heat, brown ribs on all sides.
  2. Place half of the onion, green pepper, and celery in the bottom of a slow cooker. Place half of the ribs on top the vegetables, then repeat layering with the remaining vegetables and ribs. In a medium bowl, stir together the tomato sauce, brown sugar, vinegar, lemon juice, and Worcestershire sauce. Pour mixture over the top of the ribs.
  3. Cover, and cook on High for 1 hour. Reduce to Low, and cook for another 8 to 9 hours.
Kitchen-Friendly View
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Most Helpful Positive Review
Jan 24, 2004

Be sure to trim fat from ribs before browning and cooking. I didn't think to do that and they came out kinda of greasy. Sauce was kind of thin and runnier than I expected, but very tasty and easy to make. The meat does just fall apart.

 
Most Helpful Critical Review
Nov 01, 2004

GOOD. I USUALLY BOIL THE SPARE RIBS FIRST, POUR TWO BOTTLES OF OUR FAVORITE BARBEQUE SAUCE OVER TOP OF THEM AND SLOW COOK UNTIL THEY FALL APART. WHAT I LIKED ABOUT THIS RECIPE WAS THE GREEN PEPPERS AND ONIONS. I CAN'T SAY WE CARED MUCH FOR THE TOMATO GRAVY. EVERYONE ASKED ME TO GO BACK TO MY ORIGINAL RECIPE ONLY ADD THE VEGGIES. SERVED THE RIBS WITH BAKED POTATOES (WASH, POKE HOLES, SPRAY TIN FOIL WITH BUTTER SPRAY AND SPRINKLE PRETZEL SALT IN THE BUTTER. WRAP TIN FOIL TIGHTLY AROUND POTATO AND PLACE IN OVEN ON 350 FOR 2 HOURS---YUMMY) AND SALAD. FILLING HALFTIME DINNER!

 
Jan 26, 2004

Oh my goodness. I just wasted 6 lbs of Ribs on this. I suggest a minor adjustment to the amount of vinigar. Like maybe 1 1/2 tbsp.?

 
Feb 18, 2009

i haven't tried this particular recipe,(that's the reason for the 2 star rating) but i wanted to share a tip on slow cookers. whenever i have meat(either chicken, ribs, roast, etc) that i want to keep out of grease, i wad up pieces of aluminum foil and place in the bottom of the cooker. the meat sits on top of the pieces and cooks great and all the grease goes in the bottom. you might want to spray the foil with cooking spray if you think it might stick to the meat.

 
Jan 13, 2004

I make it the day before and put it in the refrigerator over night. All the fat comes up to the top and I take it off and it is delicious. Also, tastes great over egg noodles.

 
May 06, 2003

This is a great recipe.... I added a touch of Kraft Barbecue sauce to give a little more taste than just the tomato sauce. My husband loved it and so did I....EASY

 
Jul 24, 2003

Definitely trim the fat from the ribs! Otherwise your sauce will be too greasy. After 10 hours in the slow-cooker, the meat was very tender. I wasn't that impressed with the sauce. It was pretty runny. Next time I think I will strain out the meat and veggies when they are done and put the juice into a saucepan and thicken with some cornstarch. I did like serving it with the rice.

 
Mar 03, 2003

My friends and I enjoyed this. However, I prefer to cook a batch of cornbread to serve with the ribs. The sauce soaks into the bread and the slight sweetness of the cornbread is a great compliment!

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 442 kcal
  • 22%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 11.8 g
  • 4%
  • Cholesterol
  • 120 mg
  • 40%
  • Fat
  • 30.2 g
  • 46%
  • Fiber
  • 1.4 g
  • 6%
  • Protein
  • 29.9 g
  • 60%
  • Sodium
  • 584 mg
  • 23%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More
 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Baby Back Ribs

Have lip-smacking, saucy ribs ready just minutes after you get home from work.

Slow Cooker Barbeque Ribs

See how to make tender, tangy ribs in your slow cooker.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States