Slow Cooker Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
We didn't even do the mixture inside but I put in potatoes and I chopped up regular onions and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shay

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
So easy. I never would've thought of combining these ingredients, but it was delicious. Served it with mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dubaubel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SFleming314
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
It didn't turn out looking quite as picture-perfectly pretty as the photo shown in the recipe, but it tasted amazing! Would make this many time more. The meat would just fall off the bones. For never having prepared a cornish hen before, I was quite thrilled with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelocta, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I was very skeptical at first due to the green olive, but everything blended together so perfectly it was great. The meat was practically falling off of the bone! The only thing I did differently was add a second can of the Campbell's Golden Mushroom soup to the pot and was so glad I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shyla Lane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA
Living In: Tustin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Great Recipe! I make it all the time, my family loves it!The only thing I change is I use a chicken instead of the cornish hens. I put it on low for 8 hours in the slow cooker but follow the same ingredient amounts. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Only change was using garlic cloves and sea salt instead of garlic salt. Cooked for 4 hours on high and I found the white meat of the cornish hens to be on the dry side. The mushrooms, zucchini, olives mixture was good though. Would not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Doubled the recipe as I always do!!! I am not a fan of green olives but my husband and children are, so needless to say I was a bit hesitant to try this recipe. It didn't look appetizing nor did it smell appetizing before, during and after cooking but it tasted GREAT!! I cooked my hens a bit longer on a lower setting as I doubled the recipe. Also, I never use garlic salt or powder (just fresh garlic) 3 cloves for this recipe and 2 twists on my sea salt grinder was all I changed. I did remove the hens from the crock pot and set them in my broiler for approximately 7 minutes to brown the tops (just cause that's the way I like them :) The end result was delicious as I served it over long grain wild rice (A MUST)! There really wasn't a need for me to double the stuffing/juice as there was plenty! My husband who LOVES green olives stated that I should not put as many in next time.....and I, who am NOT A FAN of green olives LOVED it just the way it was!!!! My boys, 8-13 years old LOVED it just as it was! Thanks for a different way of preparing my hens in the "Slow Cooker"! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I loved the combination of muchrooms, zucchini and olives in this stuffing. I plan on trying a baked version of this sometime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Wasn't sure about the Olives, but tried it anyway. It was fantastic! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
As a "newbie" cook, this recipe tasted amazing and was so easy to make (I added peas and used minced garlic)! When it was cooked, I made a simple chicken bouillion roux from using the sauce from crock pot. Made simple homemade mash potatoes to complete it. Wow! Made this as my valentine's dinner for my fiance. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States