Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by gburchill
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Very ease to make , very tender and I just couldn't stop eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gburchill
Home Town: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
The corned beef came out so moist. Will definitely slow cook the corned beef again. I used the leftovers to make Rueben Sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angall7

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mattoon, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
This is a great recipe. I didn't have any beer so used 2 cans of beef broth and 1 cup of water instead of beer and the 4 cups water. I cooked it on low for 8 hours and then turned it on high for 1 hour when I put the cabbage in. Put the potatoes in about halfway through cooking it. It turned out perfect. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Excellent! Hubby raved about how good it was! Put all the ingredients in the morning come back at night to a lovely meal. The only changes to the recipe was I used Sam Adams Winter Ale, put the cabbage in with the other vegetables , used baby carrots and put the temp on low for 10 hours. Corn beef was tender and vegetables were not mushy. All that was needed was mustard and Irish Soda Bread ! Recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Disappointing to say the least. The veggies were soggy. The meat not tender. I've never had such bad results with Corned Beef. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Using the changes I made brings it to 5 stars! It's hard to figure out what to do from all the mixed reviews of cooking it on high and low. I did the first hour on high, and then put it on low for the rest of the time. I used 4 cups of water and a full bottle of bud light, since I didn't want a strong flavor of beer added to the meal. The potatoes and onions were the only vegetables I put in from the start and I did not quarter/cut them at all. I added the carrots in the last 2 hours, they were still mush(they were baby carrots, so if they were thicker they may not have been so mushy). I will likely add them in the last 45mins/hour next time. I cooked the cabbage separately in a covered skillet. The end result was awesome! I will definitely refer to this recipe next year, and pair with the Irish coffee recipe for St.Patrick's Day! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sbfitzge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Made this for St. Paddy's day supper. After reading a few reviews I decided to add the veggies 4 hours into the cooking. I lifted the beef out to add them and noticed it was VERY tender. So at 5 hours I took the beef out and wrapped it in foil. It was perfectly tender, but I got the feeling if I'd left it in for the full 8 hours we'd have had corned beef soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
We made our St. Patricks' dinner just as the recipe states and cooked it in the crockpot for 8 hours on high. Sounded like too long at a high temperature; but we read others' reviews and did it by the recipe. It turned out wonderful. The veggies were not mushy at all and the corned beef was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Simple, moist, and delicious - with a couple of tweaks. I scoured the reviews for tips before making this dish yesterday for St Patrick's Day. Here's what worked for me: (1) Substitute low-sodium beef broth for the beer AND water. I saw the review that Guinness Extra Stout didn't work well - and that's all we had! In any event, using beef broth eliminates any concerns about which type of beer. (2) Start with just the onion, beef, and broth in the slow cooker - as others have suggested, add the potatoes and carrots about halfway through, and the cabbage 1 hour before the end. (3) Thick slices of carrots, not matchsticks. They were substantial enough to stay intact yet still melted in the mouth. (4) Yes indeed - 8 hours on HIGH, and everything turned out perfectly - nothing was dried out or overcooked. I thought that sounded like too much as well, and maybe it depends on your slow cooker temp settings. I did a bit of research - slow cooker temps vary from brand to brand but apparently the "high" setting can be as low as 200 degrees F. (I've also heard that in some models, "high" just means you get the food to the target temperature more quickly, but that the actual high & low temps are the same) . In any event - I have a Rival Crock-Pot and 8 hours on High actually worked (remember - only the beef, onions, and broth were in there for 8 hours - the veggies were in for less). Final tip: fresh horseradish is the perfect garnish, IMO. Grainy Dijon mustard also works well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
Best I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 619) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

Corned Beef and Cabbage I

See how to make a traditional recipe for corned beef and cabbage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States