Slow-Cooker Corned Beef and Cabbage Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
Turned out better than expected! I loved the fact that it was easy to cut the veggies up, throw it in the crackpot, go to bed, and wake up Sunday morning with dinner prepared. I changed some things: *I cooked it for nine hours on low instead of high. The meat came out perfect! It wasn't overcooked or too tough. *I left out the beer. I am not a beer drinker and didn't want to buy a beer for this recipe. While I try my best NOT to leave ingredients out of a recipe, I am glad that I did this time. *I added seasoning salt, garlic powder, and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
The ingredients here are mostly good -- but it needs garlic, either fresh or out of the jar. Consider using the pickling spice mix that you have on the shelf instead of what comes in the meat bag. Be sure to rinse the meat to get some of the salty liquidoff. For the cooking liquid, I use half beer (a good stout) and half beef stock. My crock pot gets it done nicely on low, not high. If you put all of the veg in at the start (except the cabbage, of course), it's all going to be sort of soggy and brown. I put in just the onions -- lots of them. Then, when the beef is done, I take out enough of the broth to put into a pot on the stove with the carrots, cook the potatoes separately in water, and saute the cabbage in butter. By now the beef has firmed up enough to slice, and the veg will look fresh and bright as the Irish flag on the plate. (Incidentally, this is not an IRISH dish but an Irish American variation of the "boiled bacon" that they knew at home, which is really a nice slab of ham.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boxplayer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
I made this, but since my beef was only a little over 2#, I added some turnip and parsnips! It was delicious even though I overcooked it a bit. I shared it and still had 3 meals for my husband and myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Day Elliott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2015
This was easy and delicious! I added the vegetables after four hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I loved my mom's corned beef and cabbage, so I thought I'd give this a try for St. Patrick's Day. I was very pleased with my first time! We are not beer drinkers, so I omitted the beer entirely and substituted beef broth for the water. I first cooked the corned beef in the beef broth and seasonings for 4 hours on LOW, then added the vegetables for the remaining 4 hours. The vegetables turned out wonderfully, especially the potatoes. Yum! Next time I will get a more expensive cut of corned beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Took some tips from other comments and added onion/garlic powder. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Not a fan of corned beef, but husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Delicious. The corned beef was too salty, so maybe rinse it first before throwing in. There was a lot of liquid at the end, so maybe cut down on the water/stock
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esther

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Best we have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Venosh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
following the recipe, my corned beef was not tender. the veggies were good but the meat lacked flavor and was too overdone for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CCTHOMPSON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 695) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Corned Beef and Cabbage

Simple, no-fuss corned beef and cabbage simmers slowly all day.

How to Cook Corned Beef and Cabbage

Watch how to make this traditional St. Patrick’s Day dish.

How to Make Corned Beef and Cabbage

See how to make the official meal of St. Patrick’s Day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States