Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
This is a good starter recipe. However, there are a few things I change that makes it a very good chowder. First, I use an extra can of corn and change it to cream style. Next, the ham became too rubbery. So, I now I boil chicken and shred it. I then boil the potatoes in the chicke water for about ten minutes. Then, I mash them just slightly. This makes them much softer and adds to the texture of the chowder. Finally, I add corn starch to thicken the broth. It sounds like a lot of work, but really it's not. It makes fantastic chowder, and I always double the recipe. That way I can freeze the leftovers and have anther meal or two on hand for those days when cooking seems like too much work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
To be honest, I rarely follow a recipe to the letter unless I am baking, but I did use this one as the starting point for my potato-corn chowder and thought I'd share my modifications because it turned out great! First, I used russet potatoes, but left the skins on for the extra nutrients and rustic feel. I also added some chopped carrots and a couple of cloves of garlic, and used a whole bag of frozen corn. I used chicken stock rather than water and did not cover the vegetables. For spices, I added a good dose of kosher salt and black pepper, some ground sage, and a little crushed red pepper for a little kick. After the 8 or so hours of cooking, I ladled about 3 cups of the stock out of the crock pot, made a roux, added the stock to it along with the condensed milk, let it thicken for about 4 or 5 minutes and then added it back to the crock pot and let it cook for another 30 minutes. It was delightful! Perfect for the snowy day we're having!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Thanks to all the helpful reviews, this corn chowder turned out wonderful! Used 1 can chicken broth in place of the bouillon cubes & water, added 1 can creamed corn, added 1 clove minced garlic, added 2 carrots diced. I waited to add the ham until there was 3 hours left in cooking time so that it wouldn't' turn "rubbery" & that worked out great. After adding the evaporated milk & allowing the 30 min additional cooking time, it was still a little too liquidy to be a chowder, so I added a corn starch slurry which thickened it up nicely! It tasted good, but I felt it needed a little something, so I threw in a dash of rubbed sage & a dash of marjoram -- PERFECT!! This was SO delicious! Served w/ biscuits & we are looking forward to leftovers. Thanks for the good starter recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
Great chowder! I would add another can of corn next time though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
Great Recipe! My husband ate the leftovers and he NEVER does that! I used chopped, smoked sausage instead of ham. Next time, like other reviewers, I will use less water (or canned chicken broth) and real cream, or half & half instead of evaporated milk. Loved the smell when I got home from work! I did all prep the night before; except potatoes, so it was very easy in the morning. I plan on making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITELADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Missouri, USA
Living In: Centralia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
A hearty and easy soup. I added only one cup of water, instead of "water to cover" as the recipe called for. Along with the liquid from the corn and what cooked out of the vegetables and the milk added at the end, that was enough to make a nice thick chowder. As others had suggested, I added an additional can of cream-style corn for more corn flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
Very good chowder. Here are the changes I made. Added only 1 cup water. Added 2 finely chopped carrots. Only used 1 onion. Used 3 bullion cubes. Added chopped garlic and Emeril's spice. Added a can of creamed corn. Added about 1 cup of shredded cheddar cheese at the same time as the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynWright

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
We loved this recipe. I also added a box of frozen corn and a little garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
I thought this was great. Added 4 oz of mushrooms that were going off, and thickened the soup with a cornstarch slurry. I agree with the extra can of corn suggestion. Really an easy and enjoyable soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Excellent. Only made minimal changes; first I did add a can of creamed corn to more creamy corn flavor. I was hesitant to add all the water called for b/c of other reviews, but I did add enough to cover slightly and ended up adding a bit more since there was so much stuff in the crock, it really needed the liquid to be a soup instead of ham and veggies floating in a teeny bit of water! Also added just a bit of garlic but other than that wonderful flavor, I don't think it was bland at all (making sure you have adequate chicken boullion, salt and pepper) it tasted exactly what I was hoping a corn chowder would taste like, corny and creamy! I also did add diced carrots with the celery, I thought they were on there but when I went to make it apparently there are no carrots called for. Added barely a t of cornstarch, maybe 1/2 t, before done just to make sure it was nice and creamy, not overly thick. I will definately make this again and again! Was a breeze to throw in the crock in the morning and have a great hearty chowder when I came home. Also did not peel potatoes, completely unneccessary and a waste of time I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portage, Michigan, USA
Living In: Schoolcraft, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States