Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was the best corn chowder I ever made! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Easy and filling. I added carrots and some extra potatoes. Also used skim milk instead of evaporated and added a bit of cheddar cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie N Matt Thomas

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made this for some friends and it was a hit....I added red pepper flakes as other reviews said it was bland and I also added a can of south western type corn. Lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Thanks to all the helpful reviews, this corn chowder turned out wonderful! Used 1 can chicken broth in place of the bouillon cubes & water, added 1 can creamed corn, added 1 clove minced garlic, added 2 carrots diced. I waited to add the ham until there was 3 hours left in cooking time so that it wouldn't' turn "rubbery" & that worked out great. After adding the evaporated milk & allowing the 30 min additional cooking time, it was still a little too liquidy to be a chowder, so I added a corn starch slurry which thickened it up nicely! It tasted good, but I felt it needed a little something, so I threw in a dash of rubbed sage & a dash of marjoram -- PERFECT!! This was SO delicious! Served w/ biscuits & we are looking forward to leftovers. Thanks for the good starter recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
we did not like this recipe. it was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Chenoweth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
so good! made with frozed corn and cut back on the amount of evaporated milk used chicken broth and added cubed sweet potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was okay. I didn't think it had a lot of taste. I added carrot and bacon and it still was rather bland. One thing to note: Make sure the potatoes and any other veggies you add are completely cooked before adding the evaporated milk. I tested a couple of pieces of my potatoes and they seemed done, but when I served it, there were still some pieces that were a little crunchy. So, I turned the heat back on low for a couple of hours. When I looked at it again, the evaporated milk had burned and formed a brown skin over the top of the chowder. I ended up tossing the leftovers because of this. I will probably not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I used a smoked ham and it added great flavor!! It is my standby when it is really cold out and we need a hot dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
It was okay, although like most users, I made a good amount of changes. I did NOT extra water after pouring in the chicken stock, but I DID add in more vegetables, including a second can of cream-style corn and a lot more potatoes and carrots. I also added some spices, like sage, oregano, and basil. I used half & half to thicken it up the first time I made this; since then, I have used heavy cream. I served it with cheese. Really good and hearty, if you make a few alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I made this for my friends and i to have when we got home from a halloween party. It was a big hit. Everyone enjoyed it. I did add a little corn starch to thinken it up. But i thought the recipe was great as is. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helzbelz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Pozole in a Slow Cooker

Mexican stew with hominy, pork and dried chile peppers made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States