Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was okay. I didn't think it had a lot of taste. I added carrot and bacon and it still was rather bland. One thing to note: Make sure the potatoes and any other veggies you add are completely cooked before adding the evaporated milk. I tested a couple of pieces of my potatoes and they seemed done, but when I served it, there were still some pieces that were a little crunchy. So, I turned the heat back on low for a couple of hours. When I looked at it again, the evaporated milk had burned and formed a brown skin over the top of the chowder. I ended up tossing the leftovers because of this. I will probably not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I used a smoked ham and it added great flavor!! It is my standby when it is really cold out and we need a hot dinner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
It was okay, although like most users, I made a good amount of changes. I did NOT extra water after pouring in the chicken stock, but I DID add in more vegetables, including a second can of cream-style corn and a lot more potatoes and carrots. I also added some spices, like sage, oregano, and basil. I used half & half to thicken it up the first time I made this; since then, I have used heavy cream. I served it with cheese. Really good and hearty, if you make a few alterations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I made this for my friends and i to have when we got home from a halloween party. It was a big hit. Everyone enjoyed it. I did add a little corn starch to thinken it up. But i thought the recipe was great as is. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helzbelz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Good soup. There is nothing better than getting home from work and your dinner is ready. This soup is very tasty. I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wallkill Panther Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wallkill, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
easy and tasty. great on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TILO0002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hibbing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Im not so impressed. I followed the recipe and it just isnt a 5 star. Its not bad but probably will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I liked this recipe. I took the advice of others and added a can of cream corn and cornstarch. I added 5 cups of water, next time I might cut it down to 3 or 4. Served with campground cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
easy, but very very basic, almost a bit bland. i added garlic cloves and used chicken instead of ham. put the chicken in frozen and shredded it right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
I added a can of cream style corn and I used frozen shredded potatoes (easier and quicker), and my family loved it. Garnish with cheddar cheese and serve with cornbread. I will definately keep this in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Easy Baked Potato Soup

This may be the simplest potato soup ever.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States