Slow Cooker Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Could use a teensy bit more flavor but definitely delicious. Halved the recipe to fit in my tiny slowcooker and used chicken instead of ham since that's what this Lancaster County native is used to in her corn chowder. Pretty delicious, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
I took the advice of some of the other reviews. I left out the water, and ham. I also chose to use less onion. I added fresh chopped carrots, used new potatoes, chicken broth, thyme, marojoram, oregano, 2 % milk instead of evaporated milk, and added cornstartch to thicken (about 2 1/2 tablespoons). For an added kick I also added cayenne pepper. The chowder tastes amazing! I will use it again :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was pretty tasty. I left out the onion and celery (for personal tatse) and substituted celery salt and minced onion for those. Everyone liked it, but no one raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evetsangel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Thanks for the great base recipe! My whole family LOVED it! I did make a few changes... I added more celery and used at least 3 cups of frozen corn. I processed about 2 cups of corn before adding to give it a more creamy texture. I melted the margarine and mixed it with 3-4 TBSP of flour to help thicken as well. As others suggested, I added the ham near the end. It turned out great and I would definitely make this easy recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
We liked this....it was simple to throw together and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by llglass

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
SO yummy! I had never had chowder with ham in it, and had not tried it in a slow cooker. SO GOOD! I followed another reviewer, as I like more corn, and want it thick. So I did one can or corn, and two of cream corn. One can of chicken broth, and no water. I didn't do celery, but that is because we really aren't fans of celery. Just a good comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellsworth, Maine, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Great recipe. Made some adjustment from reading others recommendations. Used Chicken stock instead of water to cover potatoes. Added cooked bacon instead of ham and used heavy cream instead of evap. milk. Used 2 cans of sweet corn and 1 can of cream corn. I also added a tablespoon of diluted cornstarch in water to thicken. Did't need to add any salt at all. In fact I will use only 1 chicken bullion next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
This was the best corn chowder I ever made! Easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Easy and filling. I added carrots and some extra potatoes. Also used skim milk instead of evaporated and added a bit of cheddar cheese at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaxson13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Made this for some friends and it was a hit....I added red pepper flakes as other reviews said it was bland and I also added a can of south western type corn. Lots of flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Jerre's Black Bean and Pork Slow Cooker Chili

See how to make pork chili with a savory Southwest flair.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States